Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Teaching and Learning with Online Educational Videos: A Subject List of Web Resources for Educators (August 2013): Works Cited

By Susan Ariew

Works Cited: Websites

CH citations appearing at the end of an entry refer to Choice reviews of the resource listed or to a review of the website of its publisher.  For example, the CH review cited in AIDS.gov (YouTube One Channel) is a review of AIDS.gov, not of its YouTube channel.

Academic Earth. www.academicearth.org/  (CH, Jul’09, 46-5926)

AdViews, Duke University. library.duke.edu/digitalcollections/adviews/ (CH, Jul’10, 47-6063)

AIDS.gov (YouTube One Channel), AIDS.gov. www.youtube.com/user/aidsgov​​  (CH, Dec’09, 47-2033)

Alan Lomax Archive (YouTube One Channel), Association for Cultural Equity. www.youtube.com/user/AlanLomaxArchive

All about Psychology (YouTube One Channel), David Webb. www.youtube.com/user/learnaboutpsychology

American Cancer Society (YouTube One Channel). www.youtube.com/user/AmerCancerSociety

American Film Institute (YouTube One Channel). www.youtube.com/user/afi

American Indian Film Gallery, University of Arizona. aifg.arizona.edu/

American Memory, Library of Congress. memory.loc.gov/ammem/browse/ListSome.php?format=Motion+Picture  (CH, Dec’05, 43-2404)

American Rhetoric Online Speech Bank, Michael E. Eidenmuller. americanrhetoric.com/speechbank.htm  (CH, Jun’06, 43-5719)

Animal Planet (YouTube One Channel), Discovery Communications LLC. www.youtube.com/user/AnimalPlanetTV

The Archaeology Channel, Archaeological Legacy Institute. www.archaeologychannel.org/content/videoguide.asp

Archive of American Television, Academy of Television Arts & Sciences Foundation. www.emmytvlegends.org/  (CH, Mar’10, 47-3539)

ARKive, Wildscreen (registered UK charity). www.arkive.org/  (CH, Dec’04, 42-2202)

Associated Press (YouTube One Channel). www.youtube.com/user/associatedpress

Bill Nye the Science Guy, Bill Nye. www.billnye.com/media/video-segments/  (CH, Dec’05, 43-2179)

BIO (YouTube One Channel), A+E Television Networks LLC. www.youtube.com/user/BiographyChannel  (CH, Apr’06, 43-4358)

Bloggingheads.tv, Nonzero Foundation. bloggingheads.tv/

Book TV (YouTube One Channel), booktv.org. www.youtube.com/user/BookTV  (CH, Sep’10, 48-0039)

Burke Museum of Natural History and Culture (YouTube One Channel), University of Washington. www.youtube.com/user/burkemuseum

California Academy of Sciences (YouTube One Channel). www.youtube.com/user/calacademy

CareerTV, CareerTV Inc.—a Universum Company. careertv.com/career_videos.php  (CH, Sep’09, 47-0002)

Carl Sagan’s COSMOS (YouTube One Channel). www.youtube.com/user/SagansCosmos

CDCStreamingHealth (YouTube One Channel), Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. www.youtube.com/user/cdcstreaminghealth

CitizenTube, YouTube. www.youtube.com/user/citizentube

Crash Course! (YouTube One Channel), Hank Green and John Green. www.youtube.com/user/crashcourse

C-SPAN Video Library, C-SPAN. www.c-spanvideo.org/videoLibrary/

C-SPAN (YouTube One Channel), C-SPAN. www.youtube.com/user/CSPAN  (CH, Sep’10, 48-0039)

Dance Channel TV (YouTube One Channel), dancechanneltv.com. www.youtube.com/user/DanceChannelTV

ECorner, Stanford Technology Ventures Program. ecorner.stanford.edu/  (CH, Sep’10, 48-0369)

Edge, Edge Foundation Inc. edge.org

Edutopia, The George Lucas Educational Foundation. www.edutopia.org/  (CH, Dec’02, 40-2295)

eHow, YouTube. www.youtube.com/ehow

Europa Film Treasures, www.europafilmtreasures.eu/  (CH, Mar’09, 46-3736)

Federal Student Aid (YouTube One Channel), U.S. Department of Education, StudentAid.gov. www.youtube.com/user/FederalStudentAid

FORA.tv, FORA.tv Inc. fora.tv/  (CH, Apr’09, 46-4165)

Frontline, Public Broadcasting System. www.pbs.org/wgbh/pages/frontline/view/

Garland Science (YouTube One Channel), Taylor & Francis Group. www.youtube.com/user/garlandscience

History (YouTube One Channel), A&E Television Networks LLC. www.youtube.com/user/historychannel/videos

HippoCampus, Monterey Institute for Technology and Education. www.hippocampus.org/?user=hippocampus  (CH, Apr’13, 50-4166)

Howcast, Howcast Media Inc. www.howcast.com/

Hulu. www.hulu.com/

It Gets Better Project (YouTube One Channel). www.youtube.com/user/itgetsbetterproject

Kaplan SAT and ACT Prep (YouTube One Channel), Kaplan Publishing. www.youtube.com/user/KaplanSATACT

Khan Academy, Khan Academy Inc. www.khanacademy.org/  (CH, Jan’11, 48-2433)

LangMedia Resources for World Languages, Five College Center for the Study of World Languages. langmedia.fivecolleges.edu/culturetalk.html (CH, Aug’10, 47-6696)

LearnersTV. www.learnerstv.com/  (CH, Dec’10, 48-1796)

Mars Exploration Rover Mission, California Institute of Technology Jet Propulsion Laboratory. marsrover.nasa.gov/gallery/video/challenges.html

Media That Matters, Reel Lives Inc. www.mediathatmattersfest.org/about

Mind Your Mind (YouTube One Channel), mindyourmind.ca. www.youtube.com/user/mindyourmind

MIT OpenCourseWare, Massachusetts Institute of Technology. ocw.mit.edu/  (CH, Aug’07, 44-6573)

More Than Dance … (YouTube One Channel), Anaheim Ballet, City of Anaheim. www.youtube.com/user/AnaheimBallet

Moving Image Archive, Internet Archive. archive.org/details/movies (CH, Mar’09, 46-3591)

MSRI VMath, Mathematical Sciences Research Institute. www.msri.org/web/msri/online-videos

NASA Television (YouTube One Channel). www.youtube.com/user/NASAtelevision

National Audubon Society (YouTube One Channel). www.youtube.com/user/NationalAudubon

National Film Board of Canada, www.nfb.ca/  (CH, Aug’09, 46-6535)

National Institute of Mental Health (YouTube One Channel). www.youtube.com/user/NIMHgov  (CH, Jan’06, 43-3082)

National Writing Project (YouTube One Channel), nwp.org. www.youtube.com/user/NatlWritingProject  (CH, Mar’11, 48-3997)

Nature Online Video Streaming Archive, Nature Publishing Group. www.nature.com/nature/videoarchive/  (CH, Aug’09, 46-6763)

Nature Video Channel (YouTube One Channel), Nature Publishing Group. www.youtube.com/user/NatureVideoChannel  (CH, Aug’09, 46-6763)

New York City Ballet (YouTube One Channel), nycballet.com. www.youtube.com/user/newyorkcityballet

Nobel Prize (YouTube One Channel), Nobel Prize Foundation. www.youtube.com/user/thenobelprize  (CH, Apr’02, 39-4547)

NOVA Education, WGBH Educational Foundation. www.pbs.org/wgbh/nova/education/

NPR Radio Pictures: Videos and Photos (YouTube One Channel), National Public Radio. www.youtube.com/user/npr/videos?view=1

Open Culture,Open Culture LLC. www.openculture.com/  (CH, Sep’12, 50-0010)

OpenLearn, The Open University (UK). www.open.edu/openlearn/education  (CH, Mar’09, 46-3617)

Open Vault—WGBH Media Library and Archives, WGBH Educational Foundation. openvault.wgbh.org/  (CH, Oct’10, 48-0610)

Open Yale Courses, Yale University. oyc.yale.edu/  (CH, Jun’08, 45-5706)

PBS LearningMedia, PBS & WGBH Educational Foundation. www.pbslearningmedia.org/  (CH, Dec’11, 49-2214)

Penn Museum (YouTube One Channel), University of Pennsylvania, Museum of Archaeology and Anthropology. www.youtube.com/user/pennmuseum

The Periodic Table of Videos, University of Nottingham. www.periodicvideos.com/  (CH, Feb’09, 46-3256)

Prendismo Collection, Prendismo LLC. www.prendismo.com/collection/  (CH, Nov’10, 48-1575)

Pulitzer Center on Crisis Reporting (YouTube One Channel), Pulitzer Center, pulitzercenter.org/. www.youtube.com/user/PulitzerCenter/

Robert Krampf Science (YouTube One Channel), thehappyscientist.com. www.youtube.com/user/RobertKrampf

Royal Opera House (YouTube One Channel), roh.org.uk. www.youtube.com/user/royaloperahouse

SciShow News (YouTube One Channel), Hank Green. www.youtube.com/user/scishow

Science Channel (YouTube One Channel), Discovery Communications LLC. www.youtube.com/user/ScienceChannel

The Science Channel (YouTube One Channel), ScienceTV. www.youtube.com/user/ScienceMagazine

Sesame Street (YouTube One Channel), SesameStreet.org, Sesame Workshop. www.youtube.com/user/SesameStreet/videos

Sick Science! (YouTube One Channel), SteveSpanglerScience.com. www.youtube.com/user/SteveSpanglerScience

Sixty Symbols (YouTube One Channel), University of Nottingham. www.youtube.com/user/sixtysymbols  (CH, Jun’10, 47-5711)

Smithsonian Folkways (YouTube One Channel), folkways.si.edu. www.youtube.com/user/SmithsonianFolkways  (CH, Dec’09, 47-1762)

Smithsonian Videos (YouTube One Channel). www.youtube.com/user/SmithsonianVideos

Stanford Hospital & Clinics (YouTube One Channel), stanfordhospital.org. www.youtube.com/user/StanfordHospital

Stanford University (YouTube One Channel), www.youtube.com/user/StanfordUniversity

Steven Spielberg Film and Video Archive, United States Holocaust Memorial Museum. resources.ushmm.org/film/search/simple.php  (CH, Jan’98, 35-2861)

Stratford Festival (YouTube One Channel), stratfordfestival.ca. www.youtube.com/user/stratfordfestival

TED Talks, TED Conferences LLC. www.ted.com/talks  (CH, Dec’08, 46-1805)

UCLAcourses (YouTube One Channel), University of California, Los Angeles. www.youtube.com/user/UCLACourses

UNICEF (YouTube One Channel). www.youtube.com/user/unicef

United Nations (YouTube One Channel), United Nations. www.youtube.com/user/unitednations

USA.gov (YouTube One Channel), USA.gov. www.youtube.com/usagov

U.S. Department of Education (YouTube One Channel), Ed.gov, U.S. Department of Education. www.youtube.com/user/usedgov

U.S Department of State (YouTube One Channel). www.youtube.com/user/statevideo

USC Annenberg (YouTube One Channel), Annenberg School for Communication and Journalism, University of Southern California. www.youtube.com/user/USCAnnenberg

USC School of Cinematic Arts (YouTube One Channel), University of Southern California. www.youtube.com/user/USCCinematicArts

Vega Science Trust Videos, The Vega Science Trust. vega.org.uk/  (CH, Sep’10, 48-0234)

Videos from College.gov (YouTube One Channel), College.gov, U.S. Department of Education. www.youtube.com/user/collegedotgov

Vimeo, Vimeo LLC. vimeo.com/

WatchKnowLearn, Community Foundation of Northwest Mississippi. www.watchknowlearn.org/

webcast.berkeley, University of California, Berkeley. webcast.berkeley.edu/

The White House (YouTube One Channel), whitehouse.gov. www.youtube.com/askobama

Wildlife Conservation Society (YouTube One Channel), Wildlife Conservation Society. www.youtube.com/user/WCSMedia

Witness (YouTube One Channel), Witness.org. www.youtube.com/user/Witness

Words of the World (YouTube One Channel), University of Nottingham. www.youtube.com/user/wordsoftheworld

World Economic Forum (YouTube One Channel), World Economic Forum. www.youtube.com/user/WorldEconomicForum

World Health Organization (YouTube One Channel), World Health Organization. www.youtube.com/user/who

YouTube, YouTube LLC. www.youtube.com

YouTube EDU, YouTube LLC. www.youtube.com/education

YouTube Teachers, YouTube EDU. www.youtube.com/teachers