Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

RCL Career Resources Allied Health: All Titles

RCL Allied Health + Choice Titles

Using more than 250 case studies focusing on a variety of health issues and ethnic cultures, Galanti (anthropology, California State Univ., Los Angeles) illustrates the complexity of providing health care to patients from different cultures. The fourth edition (1st ed., CH, Dec'91, 29-2134) will help students and practitioners better understand cultural differences that may arise in health care settings when working with diverse patients. The volume is composed of 13 chapters organized by topic rather than ethnic group. The first chapter provides an overview of anthropological concepts for those who want to better understand and work with people from different cultures. The subsequent 12 chapters are titled "Communication and Time Orientation," "Pain," "Religion and Spirituality," "Activities of Daily Living and the Body," "Family," "Men and Women," "Staff Relations," "Birth," "The End of Life," "Mental Health," "Traditional Medicine," and "Making a Difference." The cultural stories presented in this work are fascinating and illustrate the variety of interactions that can occur among patients and providers from different backgrounds, representing both cultural misunderstandings and culturally competent health care. This informative resource will be useful for students and health professionals interested in improving their cultural competency skills. Up-to-date appendixes; excellent bibliography. Summing Up: Highly recommended. Lower-level undergraduates through professionals/practitioners; two-year technical program students. This review refers to an earlier edition.

--D. E. Bill, West Chester University

Reel (Univ. of Utah), a professional counselor, here offers nearly 200 entries on body image and eating disorders. Her work is supported by 20 years of teaching, research, and clinical patient care. She collaborated with 16 contributors who have widespread expertise in the related disciplines of nutrition, sports, psychology, and addiction. Following the introduction, a time line provides historical perspective, depicts the escalation of cultural preferences for thinness among artists and sports figures, and shows the increasing obesity of modern times. Among the topics discussed are the reasons for destructive eating behavior, patterns of food and exercise, history and prevalence, treatment, rehabilitation, prevention, and support groups. Entries highlight Western culture and its influence on global health through the spread of media. Also covered are technical terms used to describe eating disturbances and associated conditions. Entries vary from two to four pages. All are cross-referenced or give selections for further reading. Also offered is an extensive index of words and phrases, with pointers to material related to a specific heading. Two case studies show that the development of eating disorders is multifactorial, that these disorders require various interventions tailored to individual patients, and that they can span a lifetime. Summing Up: Recommended. Lower- and upper-division undergraduates, general readers, and practitioners.

--S. U. Sanders, University of Missouri, Kansas City

Cadick's unique work discusses every aspect of the safety of electric circuits in an industrial setting. The author, a professional engineer and consultant specializing in electrical safety issues, provides plant engineers, safety managers, and electricians with a comprehensive guide to electrical safety equipment, procedures, and standards. The 350-plus pages are divided into nine chapters. The first three are the most informative; they describe the effect of electricity on the human body, the use and construction of safety equipment, and methods and procedures to ensure worker safety. Chapter 4 discusses various electrical safety standards and regulations, and the organizations that develop them. (There are 94 pages excerpted from OSHA regulations.) Separate chapters treat the safety of low-voltage circuits and of medium- and high-voltage circuits. Remaining chapters cover the creation of a safe working environment. Recommended for people working with or near electrical equipment and who are concerned with safety and regulatory issues. General; professional. This review refers to an earlier edition.

--L. J. Bohmann, Michigan Technological University

Food safety is a broad field of science that deals with the history and production of food as well as the effects of eating on human health. This simple-to-comprehend book provides many accurate, up-to-date details about food safety and food legislation. The book begins with brief historical information about food safety and the body's mechanisms for dealing with food toxins. Shaw (Univ. of Canterbury, New Zealand) then provides a detailed analysis of food risk and covers the principles of risk management. The author describes the organisms and chemicals commonly responsible for causing food safety issues, using examples and case studies. He also addresses the science and misconceptions of food processing and preservation. Separate chapters focus on the issues associated with genetically modified foods, organic foods, and food allergies. The last chapter briefly covers the large topic of food safety regulations and legislation throughout the world. Ample illustrations/images and contemporary primary references support each chapter. Shaw presents all technical content clearly without verbiage or excessive use of acronyms. A useful resource for public health and policy library collections. Summing Up: Highly recommended. Lower-division undergraduates and above; general readers.

--B. R. Shmaefsky, Lone Star College - Kingwood

This updated edition (5th ed., 2010) of an introductory textbook on occupational safety and health (OSH) provides comprehensive coverage of laws and regulations, safety and ergonomics, human factors, terrorism and violence, hazardous materials, and other workplace dangers.  Friend (Embry-Riddle Aeronautical Univ.), a safety specialist with extensive background in business management), and Kohn (deceased; formerly, industrial technology, East Carolina Univ.) espouse the philosophy that occupational illnesses and injuries are preventable.  The historical survey in chapter 1 is excellent.  Particularly strong chapters are "Workers’ Compensation and Recordkeeping" and "Ergonomics and Safety Management."  The latter is detailed and reflects the authors' backgrounds and expertise.  Chapter 9, "System Safety," is sufficiently detailed to be useful in program development, including setting up and conducting a job safety analysis and basic skills for an OSH practitioner.  Discussions of legal and economic issues are interspersed throughout.  Overall, the book is strongest in safety topics, with excellent coverage of accident response and investigation.  It is weakest in toxicology and health effects, with confusing dose-response graphics.  The text of OSHA standards (appendix A and B) is useful, but anthropometry data (appendix C) is less so.  This is a workable textbook for a one-semester course, although supplemental resources in toxicology are needed. Summing Up: Recommended. All students, faculty, and professionals/practitioners. This review refers to an earlier edition.

--M. Gochfeld, Robert Wood Johnson Medical School

Endorsed by the American Holistic Nurses' Association, this book can enlighten the nursing profession to understand the untapped capacity nurses have in the healing process. All four nurses who author this book have advanced degrees. The holistic approach as a body-mind-spirit process of living is explored, with the nurse's role in this process delineated. The role of the "nurse healer" is described in a unique fashion by incorporating ideas of philosophy and systems theory, all within a nursing process framework. This work also provides an inward explanation of nurses themselves to heighten their awareness and thus promote appropriate intervention strategies in the clinical practice. Holistic interventions are discussed in detail and include nutrition, exercise, the physical environment, relaxation, imagery, music therapy, play and laughter, relationships, touch, and self-reflection. Chapters conclude with useful notes, suggested readings, and recommended resources. Recommended for students and practitioners in nursing and for others interested in the growing movement of holistic health. This review refers to an earlier edition.

--J. Blank, University of Arizona

This third edition is a welcome update to the previous ones (2nd, 1996; 1st, 1985). It has a decidedly more international perspective, concluding with a well-researched unit in which Donahue (emer., Univ. of Iowa) challenges all nurses to take a global view of health care. The perspective, however, remains that of a nurse in the United States. This orientation is most noticeable in the sections on the world wars. The writing is clear and accessible, the time lines summarize vast amounts of information, and the organization allows readers to focus on particular areas of interest. The generous use of illustrations richly supports the author's premise that nursing throughout the centuries has been both a science and an art. This book is a celebration of nursing and its history. Readers should not expect an examination of the profession's shortcomings or ethical failings. With that understanding, readers of previous editions and those with an interest in the history of health care will do well to add this beautiful edition to their libraries. Summing Up: Recommended. Lower- and upper-level undergraduates, two-year technical program students, professionals, and general readers.

--M. D. Lagerwey, Western Michigan University

One of the biggest challenges for occupational therapists is staying current in a rapidly changing health and rehabilitation arena. This fourth edition of QRD has been specifically designed and updated to increase proficiency in the skills of effective communication, critical thinking and problem solving, team building, risk taking and negotiation, and marketing and business. A definitive companion, it defines over 3,600 words (400 new to this edition) and lists important resources used in everyday practice and in the classroom. The fourth edition increases the number of appendixes from 52 to 60, adding, e.g., an ergonomic workstation checklist and basic statistics. In fact, the appendixes are among the most valuable parts of QRD, now including the American Occupational Therapy Association's "OT Code of Ethics" and "Core Values and Attitudes of OT Practice," the Braille alphabet, definitions of diseases, pathologies, and syndromes, laboratory values, muscles of the body, and prescription drugs delineated by disease and disorder. Summing Up: Highly recommended. All professionals and teachers in the field; academic collections. This review refers to an earlier edition.

--J. M. Coggan, formerly, University of Florida

Something to Chew On has a sharp bite as it addresses tangy topics related to global dietary concerns. Gibney (director, Institute of Food and Health, Univ. College Dublin, UK) uses wit and scientific expertise to lucidly explain contentious subjects that currently bemuse and emotionally arouse the public. These include genetically modified foods, the differences between synthetic and natural food chemicals, the value of organic produce compared to traditional farm products, and fears of pesticides, herbicides, and manufactured fertilizers. While looking at the human genome and the varying mutations that produce different human physical effects, the author conjectures that specific therapies will soon be designed to beneficially exploit individual variations. Obesity is a concern of the food-rich world, but diet alone may not be the responsible factor. Epigenetic influences can orchestrate the genome, and nutrition within the womb may determine future adult health. Whether describing microbial life in the gut, nutritional epidemiology, public policy, plant dynamics, global hunger, or other nutritional topics, Gibney challenges the public distrust of scientific intervention with cogent explanations that would facilitate a forceful debate with placard protestors. Aimed at the general public, this work should be required reading for all concerned citizens. Summing Up: Highly recommended. All levels/libraries.

--R. A. Hoots, emeritus, Sacramento City College

Previous editions included "Concise" in the title, now dropped to avoid the misconception that Stedman's ... for the Health Professions and Nursing is merely a miniature version of Stedman's (now called The American Heritage Stedman's Medical Dictionary, CH, Mar'05, 42-3773). In fact, this rich resource contains terms, images, and appendixes that are unique. Several disciplines have been added to its coverage--e.g., emergency medical services, medical transcription, massage therapy, bioterrorism. The 51,000 entries, aimed at readers in the health professions and nursing, contain succinct definitions with pronunciation keys. Over 900 pictures--in color and black-and-white, including 500 new images--illustrate the text pages and color inserts on anatomy, imaging technologies, and diagnostic techniques. Of the 69 appendixes, 30 are new and the rest completely updated, providing a wealth of information about diet and nutrition, drugs, assessment and care, professional information, and much more. The accompanying CD-ROM reproduces the entire content of the dictionary with illustrations, and adds audio pronunciations (uneven but helpful) and animated pictures for some terms. The price is a bargain. Summing Up: Highly recommended. Important for health profession collections, and a good choice for academic and public libraries. This review refers to an earlier edition.

--L. N. Pander, Bowdoin College

According to Gottlieb (McGill Univ., Canada), strengths-based care (SBC) "considers the whole person," their resources, and the positives in their life. This book describes the model developed at McGill for SBC. It is geared to baccalaureate nursing students since they receive the education/training to use the method. These students will find it inspiring to read the stories of the 46 professional nurses who shared their special experiences with patients. Gottlieb describes the important role that nurses play in helping the patient, family, and significant others deal with the illness and recovery processes. The book is divided into three sections covering the theory behind SBC, the skills needed to use SBC, and finally the practice of SBC. Health care providers should seriously consider using SBC since it offers new ideas for shaping more cost-effective and efficient health care. This valuable work is further supported by Patricia Benner (emer., Univ. of California, San Francisco), who writes the foreword and summarizes the contribution of SBC in terms of the patient's responsibility for his/her own health. An excellent comprehensive reference list at the end will be helpful for nurses and nurse scholars interested in SBC, evidence-based care, and reflective thinking. Summing Up: Highly recommended. Upper-division undergraduates and professionals/practitioners.

--S. C. Grossman, Fairfield University

It is a fact that obesity in the modern world has become widespread (no pun intended) and very visible. Since various life-threatening diseases are linked to it, the call has gone out to label food packages, to control portion sizes, to shun high-calorie ingredients, and to listen to the ever-changing advice from nutrition gurus. This book may hold the answer to the dietary quandary facing society. Prescott (psychology, Univ. of Newcastle, Australia) spells out the evolutionary history of how Homo sapiens became wired for sweet and fatty foods. These particular cravings are still with people today. Both chefs and parents know about these taste preferences, and they obviously apply the principles of food choices to please and satisfy their customers and families. Some have argued, absurdly so, that it is unethical to exploit this human weakness for pleasant taste. However, a food enterprise, small or large, will thrive as soon as it embraces the insight that people will buy what they like. This book is not only an interesting read for the layperson; it will especially be a welcome supplementary resource for practitioners of the culinary arts and students of food science and technology. Summing Up: Recommended. All readership levels.

--M. Kroger, emeritus, Pennsylvania State University, University Park Campus

The Handbook of Nature is clearly not just an average biology textbook; it is also a labor of love carefully written and crafted to educate and enthrall. The book is divided into six parts, beginning with an introductory section followed by sections titled "Earth's Structure," "The Atmosphere: Earth's Breath," "Water: Earth's Blood," "Earth's Life Forms," and "Wilderness." While the book's 18 chapters include all of the scientific and technical information that one would expect, the text itself is very approachable and understandable for the average undergraduate. By mixing the personal with the scientific and the poetic with the factual, Spellman (environmental health consultant), a prolific author, and Price-Bayer (speech language pathologist) have constructed an extremely well-written work that would benefit any undergraduate biology major, or even a nonmajor taking a more introductory-level course. Spellman and Price-Bayer also coauthored In Defense of Science: Why Scientific Literacy Matters (CH, Aug'11, 48-6864). Summing Up: Highly recommended. Undergraduate students of all levels and general readers.

--S. E. Brazer, Salisbury University

Radiologists/historians Thomas and Banerjee provide a highly accessible account of the history of medical imaging, from classical radiology to modern CT (computed tomography) scans, MRIs (magnetic resonance imaging) and ultrasounds, to cutting-edge PET (positron emission tomography) and SPECT (single-photon emission computed tomography) imaging. The authors highlight the main breakthroughs in medical imaging, and show how each new technique, from X-rays to SPECT, made its way into mainstream clinical practice remarkably quickly. (Roentgen published his paper on the rays he called X-rays in December 1895, and six months later radiography was establishing itself as the new diagnostic standard.) The book contains interesting accounts of the life and work of the early pioneers of radiology, including their efforts to organize themselves into societies that would give the field the status enjoyed by clinical and surgical specialties, and establish much-needed interpretation standards for this nascent specialty. This is not a detailed, historiographic description of the science of radiology and its evolving place in medicine. But the historic incidents are telling and well chosen, and anyone working in radiology will enjoy learning more about the work and struggles of their early predecessors. Summing Up: Recommended. History of medicine collections, upper-division undergraduates through professionals.

--P. Rodriguez del Pozo, Weill Cornell Medical College

This excellent "fusion" of science and food and cooking is an anthology of 33 essays, written by 53 individuals. The editors are food scientists, and the other contributors are scientists, chefs, or both. Science has increasingly influenced cooking from nouvelle cuisine through molecular gastronomy to "new gastronomy." Notable chapters include the first, on grilled cheese sandwiches, focusing on the melting properties of cheeses with implications for fondue. The second chapter examines the gastronomic effects of sound via the crispness of french fries, potato chips, and fowl. Other chapters discuss moussaka, chocolate chip cookies, meringues, egg yolks, ice creams and sorbets, soups and sauces, ketchup, and coffee flavor. The legendary Hervé This (Building a Meal, CH, Sep'09, 47-0234) recaps molecular gastronomy. Contributors also discuss how to speed up the Maillard (browning) reaction with baking soda and how to improve classic pizza crusts. The book addresses the pleasure of eating in general and the controversies surrounding food science, processed foods, and "nutritionism" along with predictions of trends in cooking and food science. Details on chemistry, physics, and other aspects of food science pervade the book. A valuable resource for courses in food science and popular versions of chemistry and physics courses. Summing Up: Highly recommended. All levels/libraries.

--R. E. Buntrock, formerly, University of Maine

Surprise! Why Calories Count is not one of the many diet books promising weight loss that have, ironically, appeared during the last 50 years of undiminished increases in obesity and numbers of overweight individuals. The book does not provide kitchen advice nor does it identify any faddish food as the miracle for achieving and maintaining a healthy weight. This is really a nutrition text, for students and the public alike, that centers on the calorie concept, ranging from historic details through physiological phenomena to nutrition labeling and consumer education. Nestle (NYU) and Nesheim (emer., Cornell) are eminent scientists and excellent communicators. Their key message is "eat less," "eat better," and "move more." But what clearly differentiates this book from all others of its kind is the additional admonition for everyone to help "politicize" calories, thereby making all people winners in the war against the obesity epidemic and its debilitating afflictions. This means that people should call on policy makers to have them more effectively enter the "calorie environment" and intervene into consumers' food choices. It also means that people should try to pressure all other stakeholders in the food marketplace to make changes. Summing Up: Recommended. All levels/libraries.

--M. Kroger, emeritus, Pennsylvania State University, University Park Campus

Snodgrass (Lenoir Rhyne Univ.) offers an encyclopedia of some 350 entries surveying a broad range of topics in the history of food worldwide, focusing especially on the role of food in society and everyday life. The topics span individual foods, meals, and ingredients; biographies of important individuals; trends, techniques, and major upheavals in the history of cuisine; and summaries of diets and cuisines around the world. The entries ground their subjects well in time and place, and many do a particularly good job of illustrating the connections between countries and regions that yielded significant shifts in food and foodways. This encyclopedia captures well the ways in which changes over the last five centuries have changed how people eat. The entries tend to be substantial; most are 1,000-plus words in length, and all include selections for further reading. Some entries are even enhanced by the inclusion of brief recipes. The second volume ends with a chronology (extending back to 498,000 BCE), a table of herbal foods and their uses, a selective but helpful glossary, and a substantial bibliography. The index is extensive. Summing Up: Recommended. Lower- and upper-level undergraduates; general readers.

--B. T. Vivier, University of Pennsylvania