Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

RCL Career Resources Business: Food Service and Hospitality Management

RCL Food Service and Hospitality Management + Choice Titles

With employment information in high demand these days, this work should find a home in most academic libraries, especially those serving business, hospitality, communications, or related fields of study. The title, another in Ferguson's popular series of career books, covers approximately 75 jobs related to the travel and hospitality sectors as they are broadly defined. They include areas such as tourism, hotels and lodging, cruise ships, theme parks, recreation, restaurants and wineries, casinos and gaming, event planning, and communications (this last section covers jobs such as food writer, translator, travel photographer, and Webmaster). Each three-to-four-page entry follows a standard format, providing basic information about the job, salary expectations, employment and advancement prospects, education and experience requirements, and tips for entry into the field. Burns (career services, Quinnipiac Univ. School of Communication) includes several appendixes that offer useful supplementary information, such as listings of educational programs in hospitality and related fields, major professional associations, and major employers. Libraries with similar works, such as Judy Colbert's Career Opportunities in the Travel Industry (2004), should consider updating their collection with this newer title. Summing Up: Recommended. Anyone interested in employment or career information in the fields noted.

--T. Bottorff, University of Central Florida

This encyclopedia aims to be a source of information not only about food, but also about "food that tastes good and is good for our bodies, our neighbors and the creatures with whom we share the planet." The title is a bit misleading because the encyclopedia covers a wide variety of topics and some industries. Broad in scope, this volume addresses food companies, brands, health, science and technology, culture, and the environment. In total, it presents more than 150 signed entries. Each brief entry provides current and historical information that is unacademic in nature. The contributors include historians, sociologists, nutritionists, journalists, scientists, and food service professionals. One item that should be addressed is a clearer separation of the entries. The alphabetical entries are not given numbers or letters, and insufficient space is allowed between the entries to inform readers when they reach a new topic. The encyclopedia does include cross-references, an alphabetical list of entries, and a topical list. Summing Up: Recommended. Lower-level undergraduates, practitioners, and general readers.

--J. C. Tucker, University of Nevada, Las Vegas

Food is at the center of historical processes ranging from colonization, immigration, and acculturation to industrialization and globalization.  Any remaining doubts about the legitimacy of food history are put to rest by this edited volume, which brings together an expert group of writers who dig deep into their sources to examine not just the history but the historiography of food across space and time.  Sixteen individual chapters unified by succinct writing are enhanced by rich bibliographies that go well beyond the classical sources, a great value to educators, researchers, and students.  Warren Belasco's introduction traces that author’s intellectual and professional path as a food historian.  He describes the emergence of a field that was viewed as peripheral by academia several decades ago.  The irony is that subsequent chapters underscore that food has never been absent from history, whether in premodern Europe (Ken Albala), the Middle East (Charles Perry), or China (E. N. Anderson).  In addition to regional histories, a number of chapters examine the role of diaspora, trade, and other processes that forced the intersection of cultures and the emergence of dynamic foodways, drawing attention to the constant shift of influences on cuisine as on all forms of culture. Summing Up: Highly recommended. All academic levels/libraries.

--A. B. Audant, CUNY Kingsborough Community College

Pullman (Portland State Univ.) and Wu (Oregon State Univ.) lay the groundwork for an informed dialogue about the food supply chain in this volume, which clearly presents the business structure required to keep society supplied with foodstuffs. The authors invite inquiry into present economic, humanitarian, political, and practical aspects of supply chain management issues, which are key to understanding the history and development of basic structures that support and influence the current supply chain. The volume's opening chapter provides an introduction to food supply chain management and discusses trends in the supply and demand for food. Subsequent chapters focus on food safety; supply chains for animal protein, commodity crops, and fruits and vegetables; the food service industry; food manufacturing and logistics; food retailing; and food aid. Discussion questions at the end of each chapter are insightful, and the supplemental readings and web links guide the reader to supportive materials. This book is an invaluable resource in the conversation about food management and sustainability and the future of the food supply. It can serve as an excellent teaching tool and will appeal to professional learners as well as postsecondary students of agribusiness and food management. Summing Up: Highly recommended. Students, lower-division undergraduate and up, and practitioners.

--T. J. Smyth, Kingsborough Community College-CUNY

Presented as a collective work, this encyclopedia is the result of hard effort by 218 leading authors from 23 countries, 15 section editors, and chief editor Pizam (dean, Rosen College of Hospitality Management, Univ. of Central Florida, Orlando). As Pizam notes, this encyclopedia does not cover every single aspect of the hospitality management discipline, but it should serve as a basic reference work for undergraduates, graduate students, and the general public. Carefully chosen entries represent not only the main sectors such as lodging, food service, events, and clubs, but also the disciplines of accounting and finance, marketing, human resources, information technology, strategic management, and facilities management. Listed alphabetically, all 728 entries provide detailed cross-sectional views across the subject fields. Each entry provides a list of up to ten relevant and current references--including databases and Web sites--and is individually signed by its author. Readers can use a well-laid-out searchable index that gives main entries in boldface and subentries in normal typeface. Summing Up: Highly recommended. Academic libraries serving lower-level undergraduates and above; hospitality industry professionals. This review refers to an earlier edition.

--Anjana H. Bhatt, Florida Gulf Coast University