Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

RCL Career Resources Business: Office Technologies

RCL Office Technologies + Choice Titles

Gasston, an experienced UK-based Web developer, sets both the context and the expectations for this guide to CSS3 right from his introductory sentence: "You're a web professional who's been hand-coding HTML and CSS for a few years ... you've read a bit about CSS3 ... but you want to gain a deeper understanding of the fundamentals." That sort of audience expects a book that returns real value for the reader's investment of time, and The Book of CSS3 meets and exceeds expectations in this regard. There is a wealth of information on CSS3 available freely across the Internet, but here, on page after page, Gasston shows why a physical volume can be a worthwhile investment. He renders the dense language of the official CSS3 specification into useful, easily understood real-world examples, accompanied with the sort of browser-specific information that professionals and students absolutely require. This book deserves a place within easy reach of the developer's keyboard and is a must have for anyone looking to join the visual revolution that CSS3 is bringing to the Web. Summing Up: Highly recommended. Upper-division undergraduates through practitioners; two-year technical program students. This review refers to an earlier edition.

--C. W. Grotophorst, George Mason University

Outstanding Academic Title

Ince (Open Univ., UK; A Dictionary of the Internet, CH, Nov'02, 40-1247) has written a splendid, appropriately titled, pocket-size book on the computer. Like an expert programmer streamlining beautiful code, Ince has brilliantly condensed all one needs to know about the computer into a most enjoyable, informative treatise. The author masterfully weaves historical aspects of the electronic computer into each of the chapters. Starting with the evolution of hardware needed for data storage and retrieval, Ince shows how the incredible miniaturization of electronics has led to the ubiquitous machine and its dramatic and sometimes deleterious effect on the entire world. Every chapter is delightfully thought provoking and a bit ominous. The computer has benefited humankind but also represents a threat to privacy and security. The author does not hesitate to look at the darker side of computing and the possibility that artificial intelligence may not be a panacea for the world's ills. The book concludes with a look at the future and new technologies that will increase the storage and processing capabilities of people's favorite digital devices. A valuable resource for all general readers, but especially those in a computer literacy course or in a computer science program. Summing Up: Highly recommended. All undergraduate students and general audiences.

--M. Connell, SUNY College at Cortland

This book provides a gentle introduction to a fascinating and emerging research area. Because of the vast scope of the subject matter involved, Gorunescu (Univ. of Craiova, Romania) intends to provide an easy-to-read "compass" to lead readers though the basic principles. As an introductory text, the material presented is comprehensive and covers every aspect of data mining. The book begins with an overview of data mining, followed by discussions on the data models, the data analysis techniques, the various classification approaches, and finally data mining methods. Though some college mathematics is needed for full understanding, the emphasis is more on concepts than on formulas and more on comprehension than on mathematical rigor. Ample examples give readers an appreciation for how the methodologies can be applied in real-life situations and the effectiveness of these methods. An extensive bibliography will help those interested in obtaining further information on the topic. This book is ideal for students with some technical background to quickly gain an appreciation of data mining and its usage. Summing Up: Highly recommended. Lower-division undergraduates and two-year technical program students.

--J. Y. Cheung, emeritus, University of Oklahoma

This new edition (1st ed., 2009), updated to reflect advances and changes in both computing and telecommunications, provides a comprehensive look at the ever-changing landscape of cyberattacks in the wild. Kizza (Univ. of Tennessee at Chattanooga) includes a thorough primer on networking fundamentals and security concepts that will be helpful for readers with a range of expertise. The true heart of the book, however, is the vast exploration of current security measures and limitations. One of the most beneficial aspects is the way the author addresses government and industrial espionage, terrorism threats to network security, and malicious scripting on the web, repeatedly and routinely encountered by even an average Internet user. These chapters bring to life the threat from a global to a very local perspective. This is an accessible and illustrative read on the topic; it does not delve too deeply into hard mathematics as some books on the subject tend to do. It will be useful for students and anyone curious about societal and personal concerns over the safety of networks in homes, offices, big business, and government. Summing Up: Highly recommended. Lower- and upper-division undergraduates, two-year technical program students, and general readers. This review refers to an earlier edition.

--T. D. Richardson, South University

Outstanding Academic Title

The Hyper-Social Organization offers the reader the opportunity to contextualize technology and social communication in a broader organizational and cultural context. The authors, marketing/media professionals, offer a valuable summary of the often-breathtaking evolution of technology and social communication. From that perspective, they move away from the easy nostrums and "ooh" factor of technology to the broader implications of organizational/cultural interactions. They achieve this while acknowledging that even more rapid change will continue to occur--and will provide even more emphasis on storytelling, community, networks, and tribal/human interactions. All this will require a plasticity, flexibility, and intrapreneurship that are still a stretch in many of today's organizations. The authors do a wonderful job in presenting this evolving world in clear, concise prose, and they present ample examples to illustrate their points and highlight companies employing effective strategies to become "hyper-social" organizations. The text also debunks some earlier concepts such as business opportunities from the "long tail" (see, for example, Chris Anderson's The Long Tail: Why the Future of Business Is Selling Less of More (CH, Jan'07, 44-2783). This book is a thought-provoking read and a comprehensive introduction to today's business challenges as social media and social networking become increasingly vital to success. Summing Up: Highly recommended. All readership levels.

--S. A. Schulman, CUNY Kingsborough Community College

Though there are many definitions of what constitutes "cloud computing," Babcock (business reporter, InformationWeek) uses the definition proposed by the National Institute of Standards and Technology: "a model for enabling convenient, on-demand network access to a shared pool of configurable computing resources (e.g., networks, servers, storage, applications, and services) that can be rapidly provisioned and released with minimal management effort or service provider interaction." This cloud model has five essential characteristics (on-demand self-service, broad network access, resource pooling, rapid elasticity, and measured service); three service models (cloud software as a service, cloud platform as a service, and cloud infrastructure as a service); and four deployment models (private cloud, community cloud, public cloud, and hybrid cloud). Babcock's book focuses on the management implications of cloud computing, in particular, how managers can position their companies for advantage using the various deployment models. In chapter 7, he examines the implications of cloud computing on IT staff reorganization. In chapter 9, he considers the question "What kind of company do you want?" in the context of social networking, analytical systems, and business intelligence. The final chapter discusses NASA's strategic cloud Nebula. This readable, thought-provoking book will be especially useful to business professionals and practitioners. Summing Up: Recommended. Practitioner and corporate collections.

--E. J. Szewczak, Canisius College

Weber (global communications specialist and founder, Massachusetts Innovation and Technology Exchange) taps a subject of great interest to marketers--turning social networks into gold. At a time when everyone is connected online 24/7 to friends, family, coworkers, organizations, and more, he advises that it is essential for marketers to be in that digital loop. Rather than sending one-sided messages to consumers, advertisers need to interact with them, becoming part of their communities. Social networking Web sites like MySpace, YouTube, Facebook, Craig's List, Second Life, and others are the new town hall meeting forums. The communication channels are endless, creating new opportunities for savvy marketers to build customer relationships. Quoting Diane Hessan of Communispace, Weber writes, "Customers are screaming to be more engaged with companies that affect their lives ... They want to be asked and they want to be involved." Companies cited who are getting it right include Stonyfield Farm, Chipotle, IKEA, Oracle, General Motors, and MasterCard. In addition to explaining how social networks operate, Weber outlines seven steps marketers can take to build their own digital communities. Summing Up: Recommended. Upper-division and graduate marketing students, faculty, and practitioners.

--P. G. Kishel, Cypress College

As author and coauthor of a number of previous books about desktop publishing, typography, and Web design, Williams brings a wealth of experience to this recent practical work. The book's organization and readability attest to the author's expertise. The arrangement of illustration, text, and headings on comfortably sized pages with sufficient white space invites readers to delve into digital presentation design principles from concept to completion or to browse topics of interest. Although instructions for specific settings in PowerPoint and Keynote are given in the chapter titled "Learn Your Software" about learning software, the book's primary content is not limited to a particular computer platform or application. Emphasizing that the presenter should be the focus, rather than the visual media, Williams provides clear, easily understood recommendations for creating interesting, well-organized presentation slides with eye-catching fonts and content-enhancing graphics. The book's informal style includes the debunking of "never-do-this" rules and brief quizzes that stimulate reader interaction. Readers at every level of presentation experience will find useful gems in this book. The title is also available as an e-book through a subscription to Safari Books Online http://www.safaribooksonline.com/Corporate/Index/ (CH, Apr'07, 44-4181; CH, Nov'07, 45-1234). Summing Up: Recommended. All levels.

--J. M. Hutton, West Chester University of Pennsylvania

Building an effective Web site with sustained value is much more complicated than just designing the look of the pages. Driving customers and visitors to the site through search engine links is the critical driver of success for organizations. This excellent book, authored by experts in search engine architecture and Web marketing, provides a fundamental, understandable guide to designing a Web site and effectively managing traffic. The volume is organized in three parts: "The Basics of Search Marketing," "Develop Your Search Marketing Program," and "Execute Your Search Marketing Program." Search engine optimization (SEO) is a strategic and a tactical topic, with both individual and team approaches, and the authors provide solid grounding. Negative actions with pitfalls and penalties are highlighted with skulls and crossbones. The extensive glossary prepares the neophyte for understanding the jargon of the trade, and clear directions for each topic provide useful guidelines to sustain effective Web sites. Quantified measurements of success are clearly explained, as well as practical tactics to expand a site's influence. The extensive index provides easy access to concepts and topics. This book will be extremely valuable for anyone interested in or responsible for marketing on the Web. Summing Up: Highly recommended. All collections. This review refers to an earlier edition.

--N. J. Johnson, Capella University

Outstanding Academic Title

To The Cloud presents an insightful, engaging look at the evolution and consequences of the cloud computing paradigm.  Mosco (emer., sociology, Queen's Univ., Canada; The Digital Sublime, CH, Nov'04, 42-1518) not only looks at the origins of the cloud and the possibilities that accompany this new form of communication and distributed computing, but also the real cost in resources for using cloud technology, the risk associated with migrating data to the cloud, and the marketing campaign that has gone into promoting the cloud as tomorrow's information technology solution.  The book presents real examples on both sides of the cloud computing argument to showcase its impact on business and computing as well as the issues that companies and individuals must address to move further in this direction.  With the paradigm of the cloud firmly established, the author makes the case for vetting the technology like any other software solution; this includes seriously considering functionality, the ethical treatment of information, and the security of the data stored on these systems.  This is a must read for anyone who wants to get a real picture of cloud computing. Summing Up: Highly recommended. All levels/libraries.

--T. D. Richardson, South University

Outstanding Academic Title

This valuable compendium organizes, evaluates, and places into context online business models, trends, and technologies. It considers where the Web has been and where it is going, with implications of these developments for business. The new generation, Web 2.0, is characterized by a shift to individual users who are now able to customize their Web experience and engage in social communication networks, leading to an integrative experience unimagined in the first, more static iteration of Web-based technologies. Funk, a Web publishing practitioner, traces these complex developments with great clarity, utilizing simple, concise language to frame the discussion. Useful case studies illustrate the potential as the Web evolves in serving customers and creating new business opportunities. The author also traces developments to the Web 3.0 environment. This well-organized and well-written work is essential for anyone interested in the Web and its development, particularly as it relates to the business world. Summing Up: Essential. General readers, all levels of students, faculty, and practitioners.

--S. A. Schulman, CUNY Kingsborough Community College

While Web video is increasingly in demand, the quality of sound and picture is often not very good. Bourne (Web video producer) and Burstein (publisher/editor, DSL Prime) wrote this book to introduce Web videographers to the important techniques of Web video style and producing for Web audiences. The work covers all aspects of Web video production including the importance of planning, how to shoot for the small screen, the right equipment, shooting on location, lighting tips and tricks, solo and multicamera shoots, sound techniques, editing and postproduction, uploading video to the Web, video compression techniques, marketing, distribution, and revenue sharing. Each chapter features readable, well-laid-out text and includes an interview with a video expert, as well as a project. Color photographs and screen shots illustrate the concepts. The volume's physical layout is enhanced by color coding of all chapters including a corresponding color disk on the right side of the pages for easy retrieval. White pages signify instruction and tan pages, projects. A well-defined table of contents and index provide additional access. The book's Web site offers downloadable video footage to help complete the projects, as well as other resources. Summing Up: Highly recommended. All levels of undergraduate and graduate students, two-year technical program students, practitioners, and general readers.

--S. G. Almquist, University of North Texas