Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

RCL Career Resources Business: Travel, Tourism, and Event Planning

RCL Travel, Tourism, and Event Planning + Choice Titles

As co-medical director of a travel clinic, Sanford (Univ. of Washington) brings years of experience to this book. That experience, combined with his good sense of humor, contributes significantly to this informative, amusing health guide for travelers. In addition to covering infectious diseases, this book gives special attention to much more common threats such as traffic accidents and drowning. Although not intended to replace a visit to a pre-travel health provider, the witty question-and-answer sections of the book are based on the questions of real patients. The personal judgment of the travelers and the quality of the travel experience are emphasized in the advice Sanford offers. Anyone considering international travel should read this book first. Simple steps, like packing a bicycle helmet and learning to recognize the signs of altitude illness, are just as important as getting recommended vaccines. Thinking about safety is not always fun, but this book--an easy, enjoyable read--will be valuable for anyone considering travel in the developing world. Summing Up: Recommended. All levels.

--S. L. Knight-Davis, Eastern Illinois University

Coeditor (with Peter Hulme) of The Cambridge Companion to Travel Writing (CH, Jun'03, 40-5647) and author of numerous books and articles on travel writing, Youngs (Nottingham Trent Univ., UK) has condensed decades of analysis of travel writing into an informative, readable introduction to the massive body of travel writing, with its dizzying variety. The author divides the book into three parts: "Historical Overview" covers the origins of travel writing and concludes with recent texts; "Continuities and Departures" provides a thematic overview focusing on quests, inner journeys, "traveling b(l)ack," and gender and sexuality; "Writing and Reading Travel" discusses the craft of travel writing and explains the strategies authors employ in their presentations of self and place. In his concise introduction, Youngs provides a succinct overview of the vexing classification problems plaguing the genre and discusses some of its conceptual challenges, particularly the relationship between travel and representation. A leitmotif of his survey is the importance and eminently political nature of all travel writing and the huge influence it continues to exert on how people view the world. Summing Up: Highly recommended. Lower- and upper-division undergraduates, graduate students, faculty, and general readers.

--M. Shafi, University of Delaware

Outstanding Academic Title

Tourism is a relatively new area of academic study, dating probably to 1975, when Louis Turner and John Ash first wrote The Golden Hordes (CH, Sep'77) about mass tourists. Since that time, tourism studies has branched out into ecotourism, educational tourism, cultural tourism, and many other subsets of tourism. Thus, it would seem timely that as the 40-year anniversary of the field approaches, a full assessment of the range of tourism studies would be in order. While this text focuses on "critical debates," it really is an excellent assessment of most of those subsets 40 years on. Moreover, the book includes other tourism-related areas (consumerism, poverty alleviation, colonialism, and climate change) that to date have rarely been put under the lens. As a result, this book is very much a reference guide, an assessment, and a polemic all in one volume. The fact that most of the giants in tourism research have contributed mark it as a must read. Two particularly noteworthy contributions are the chapter examining the possibility of the sustainability of mass tourism and the delightful chapter on slow tourism, but these are only 2 chapters of 14 that contain something for all working in tourism. Summing Up: Essential. Upper-division undergraduates and above.

--R. W. Benfield, Central Connecticut State University

Honey (Center on Ecotourism and Sustainable Development; Ecotourism and Certification, 2002) points out that ecotourism is one of the most dynamic elements in the modern multibillion-dollar tourism industry. She attributes this success to three factors. First, as the world increasingly turns "green," environmental protection becomes ever more important to large numbers of potential tourists. Second, the mantra of "sustainable development" speaks to the idea that tourism revenues might enable many countries to alleviate poverty without totally destroying their natural and culture heritage. Third, increasing numbers of tourists, having enjoyed the classic cultures of Europe, America, and other "rich" parts of the world, and are eager to see something different. This updated study (1st ed., CH, Sep'99, 37-0299) comprehensively addresses these interconnected elements and clearly identifies problems as well as benefits associated with ecotourism. The introductory "What Is Ecotourism?" section establishes the background and philosophical basis of the subject. The second and major part of the book focuses on national studies, featuring African and Latin American countries, and examines the impact of tourism on these areas. Abundant footnotes and a comprehensive index complete the work. Must reading for anyone in the tourism business. Summing Up: Highly recommended. General readers, upper-division students, and practitioners.

--J. R. McDonald, emeritus, Eastern Michigan University

Ecotourism is a fast-growing and presumably sustainable segment in the tourism industry. Unlike many other ecotourism works, in this book Buckley (Griffith Univ., Australia) adopts an analytical approach (as opposed to a prescriptive approach, i.e., what ecotourism ought to be) to examining the development and operation of ecotourism at the international level. He emphasizes the state of knowledge and state of the art of ecotourism as revealed by scholarly research. Each of the book's 15 chapters is organized with the following sections: review, research, and revision (list of major issues), reflections (questions), and readings. Such an organization effectively stimulates students' critical thinking and research interest. The book is weighted heavily toward environmental/conservation issues (over 80 pages), but too lightly toward community issues (11 pages). For a more balanced treatment, supplementary readings on community issues will be needed. The case studies table in each chapter could have been more useful if a brief summary of each study had been provided in addition to listing the study location, scale, and citation. Overall, this book will contribute to ecotourism education and serve nicely as a resource for undergraduate ecotourism classes in geography, environmental studies, and tourism. Summing Up: Highly recommended. All levels of students and professionals.

--Y.-F. Leung, North Carolina State University

Giants of Tourism is a true curiosity. Like an architectural folly, it is a frill for the tourism savant interested in learning about some key trailblazers behind today's global tourism industry. The well-written essays are grouped into sections that span the areas of hospitality, travel, tourism activities, and destination development. This grouping of essays speaks to the fact that the field of tourism is viewed far more seriously as an economic and social activity abroad than in the US (save for one essay, all contributors are from institutions outside the US, and most are academicians). This collection is very well executed and will appeal to readers interested in the specific faces of tourism innovation. Noting that "The development of tourism ... owes much to the efforts of individuals," this volume offers a portrait gallery of a small number of key figures in tourism, examining the visions, skills, and other qualities that led to their success. The "giants" profiled include Karl Baedeker, Conrad Hilton, Thomas Cook, Freddie Laker, AJ Hackett, Walt Disney, and Kerry Packer. Summing Up: Recommended. Tourism studies collections at the graduate and professional levels.

--S. A. Schulman, CUNY Kingsborough Community College

This compilation on sustainable island tourism addresses the challenge of attempting to balance the economic development resulting from tourism with environmental preservation. This "sweet-spot" can be defined as sustainability--a balance of competing interests that provides long-term benefits. Clearly, this balance is not only difficult to achieve but requires constant vigilance and negotiation between competing interests to maintain. An international group of contributors, most of them academics, discusses these challenges in clear, concise, and engaging chapters, which are organized in three parts covering the ecological, social, and economic aspects of these complex interactions. The implications and research questions arising from this "news from the front" compilation are presented in a summative chapter to help inform future research. An appropriate resource for tourism and sustainable development collections. Summing Up: Recommended. Upper-division undergraduate students through professionals.

--S. A. Schulman, CUNY Kingsborough Community College

Environmental scientists Newsome and Moore (both, Murdoch Univ., Western Australia) and Dowling (Edith Cowan Univ., Western Australia) deliver a much-anticipated second edition of Natural Area Tourism (1st ed., 2001). Through eight chapters, the authors focus on the "ecology, impacts and management" of tourism in natural, amenity-rich areas, seeking to highlight the synergistic relationship between tourism in these locations and the environment. The main impetus for the work is to showcase the fact that "with environmental understanding, informed management and an aware public, natural area tourism has the possibility of introducing people to the environment in an educative, ethical and exciting manner." Chapters, including "The Ecological Perspective," "Environmental Impacts," "Visitor Planning," "Management Strategies and Actions," and "Monitoring," among others, provide a good overview of their subjects. The book contains numerous international case studies and is chock-full of theoretical and practical implications. It is so well written that each paragraph, section, and chapter are seamless, and the reader hears a unified voice as he/she reads. Overall, a valuable resource for libraries with an extensive collection in tourism science and planning. Summing Up: Highly recommended. Upper-division undergraduates and above.

--K. M. Woosnam, Texas A&M University

Humankind has always had a great fascination for speed: fast horses, fast ships, fast trains, fast cars, fast airplanes. In the context of tourism, this has often meant traveling to a destination as rapidly as possible in the limited time available: "the trip of a lifetime" or "10 countries in 20 days." As the 21st century unfolds, however, many new concerns are changing thinking about both the physical and cultural impacts of tourism. Among these are the growing use of increasingly scarce oil to power cars, planes, and cruise ships and the resulting greenhouse effect on the Earth's environment, as well as how sustainable development can be maintained in many of the world's poorer regions. This exhaustively researched and well-written volume explores these problems and contradictions in depth. Using numerous figures and tables, the authors argue that reducing the hectic pace of travel as a component of the tourism industry would have numerous beneficial effects. Changing tourism's image as a "feel-good" industry into that of a more Earth-friendly activity on a large scale is a challenging task, but the rewards could be great. Although a bit technical in spots, this book should interest many general readers as well as tourism professionals. Summing Up: Highly recommended. Most levels/libraries.

--J. R. McDonald, emeritus, Eastern Michigan University

This collection of essays reflects the gradual shift of the tourism literature from the mechanisms of tourism (transportation, hospitality, etc.) to a broad focus on the experience of the tourist. The tourist is the focal point of "value-added tourism" in this work, where besides traveling from postcard site to postcard site, the tourist views the experience through a variety of transformational lenses. Chapters, written by contributors from around the world, demonstrate that travel and tourism, "if developed in a proper form, can contribute to human transformation, growth and development, and change human behaviour and our relationship with the world." These transformations are explored in sections titled "Wellness, Retreat, Religious and Spiritual Tourism," "Extreme Sports, Backpacking and Cultural Tourism," "WWOOFing and Ecotourism," and "Volunteer and Educational Tourism." Editor Reisinger (Temple Univ.) has produced a work that presents these perspectives in a lively, well-written manner. Summing Up: Recommended. Upper-division undergraduate through faculty and research collections.

--S. A. Schulman, CUNY Baruch College

In this ethnomethodological study of connected interactive travel, Molz (College of the Holy Cross) calls for a change in the paradigm of tourist studies that would modify traditional concepts of "tourist spaces." These are now radically shaped by practices of cyber travel and the ubiquitous, almost continuous connectivity of travelers with friends and relatives at home as well as with acquaintances made on the road. Blogging has become an essential part of travel for many, and the use of interactive tourist pages made available on mobile phones and computers affords travelers new forms of interaction with tourist sites. Molz documents blogs and interactive websites and recounts her own experiences with connected travel, as well as her experience staying in the homes of strangers who offer hospitality to travelers through the Internet. The study of tourism needs revision in response to travelers' almost dizzying experiences of connecting and disconnecting. Standard notions of authenticity and escape are in need of redefinition, given the complexity of relations between virtual and online selves with physical bodies, constantly moving from place to place while "co-present" with others in different locations. Informative and insightful. Summing Up: Highly recommended. All levels/libraries.

--S. A. Mason, Concordia University

As what is probably the 50th anniversary of the study of tourism as an academic discipline approaches, a “companion to tourism” charting the state of the tourism art would appear to be both timely and necessary.  This companion, like many other reference works, is both good and bad in attempting this kind of comprehensive coverage.  High points of the 50 chapters are the quality of the editing, the contributors, and the content they provide, albeit with much that might be seen as marginal, jargon ridden, and arcane.  The editors are giants in the field, and the contributors are in the forefront of tourism research.  A strength of the volume is that many contributors, such as Donald Getz on events and Tom Hinch et al. on sport tourism, bring readers up to date on their earlier seminal contributions to the discipline.  The weakness of this companion is what is (invariably?) left out.  There is a chapter on medical tourism, for example, but no reference to areas such as dark tourism, slow tourism, garden tourism, “voluntourism,” or attractions—all germane to 21st-century tourism yet all ignored.  Indeed, this companion to tourism has only one reference in the index to Disney!  Verdict?  Excellent … as far as it goes. Summing Up: Highly recommended. Upper-division undergraduates and above.

--R. W. Benfield, Central Connecticut State University