Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

RCL Career Resources Business: General, Reference, and Career

RCL Business Reference and Career + Choice Titles

Outstanding Academic Title

Coplin (Syracuse Univ.) provides an excellent resource for undergraduates preparing for their postbaccalaureate career. Well organized and succinct yet comprehensive, his book offers practical tips; input from employers, recruiters, and human resource personnel; and useful charts, diagrams, and worksheets, e.g., "The Skills for Success College Planner." The ten skill sets suggested here are achievable for any student. They are not philosophical platitudes but rather critical components for success in the work world. Of special value, in this reviewer's opinion, is the truth that one must take responsibility for one's success, and that success is not based primarily on grades and test scores but rather on the ability to network, communicate effectively, work hard, and do some informed and thoughtful planning. Part 1 takes the reader through each of the ten skill sets. Part 2 goes further, advising on making wise academic choices, landing the right internships, studying abroad, and giving back. This work contains excellent information on topics such as building a career network and using social media, as well as references to helpful up-to-date books and websites. This extremely well-written book is a great resource for any undergraduate student. Summing Up: Highly recommended. All levels of students; general readers; professionals.

--D. C. Martin, independent scholar

Hugos and Hulitzky, business IT specialists, advocate the business context for cloud computing, noting industry changes that made this technology critical. Their book, essentially a guide to cloud computing for business managers, highlights the benefits of cloud computing and discusses a wide range of practical considerations and strategies for making the transition to cloud computing. Though the book does not focus on the complexity of the cloud as a technical theme, it furnishes information on a few issues relative to the technology, such as security. The book offers limited information on diverse projects of firms investing in cloud computing and on a methodology that might be integrated into a cloud computing strategy for business managers. Though these limitations are inherent in a book for business managers, this work does provide case studies and useful references and can serve as a good introduction for managers. In addition, the information might be beneficial to chief technology officers as a checklist to learning the business theme of the cloud if they are not already familiar with it. Lastly, the authors offer helpful information on the impact of the cloud computing paradigm for managers in industry. See also, Charles Babcock's Management Strategies for the Cloud Revolution (CH, Dec'10, 48-2171). Summing Up: Recommended. Practitioners.

--J. P. Lawler, Pace University

Ferguson's latest edition of the Encyclopedia of Careers and Vocational Guidance—the 15th edition was reviewed in 2011 (CH, Jul'11, 48-6005)—continues to provide extensive, easily digestible information for anyone interested in exploring different career tracks.  The first volume of this comprehensive reference source includes general guidance in preparing for a career, tips on finding and applying for a job (e.g., how to structure a résumé and cover letter), and what to do once hired.  It offers detailed industry overviews, background and historical information, commonly used jargon and keywords, information about how given fields are structured by sectors, job titles, outlooks, and links and addresses for such sources of additional information as professional associations.  Beginning with this more general overview of career fields may be an especially helpful strategy for patrons who have an idea of the kinds of fields they would like to pursue but are not yet sure about specifics.

Volumes 2–5 are organized alphabetically by job title.  Most sections provide quick facts (details such as salary ranges, minimum education level, skills required, etc.) and then expand to a detailed overview and history of the career, what the work environment is like, the earnings outlook, advancement prospects, education and training, certification, licensing requirements, and the personality and skills that fit particular careers best.  Most entries also include tips for getting started in the career along with an example of a real person who is considered a leader in that field.  Each volume ends with the same helpful job title index.  Overall, Ferguson's encyclopedia remains a very user-friendly print source and is an excellent series for anyone embarking on a career. Summing Up: Recommended. Libraries supporting lower- and upper-level undergraduates, two-year technical program students, professionals, and general readers.

--C. J. Kohen, Daytona State College

Qualman (online marketing and e-commerce specialist) presents a collection of upbeat, anecdotal essays about using new social media venues effectively. Coining the term "socialnomics," the popular speaker and consultant conveys the transparency of Web opinions (good or bad) and their effects on the profitability of products and services. He structures the book's presentation in the style of social media messages, so the text lacks depth and substance. Marketing and sales-management professionals will appreciate the discussions of social media concepts, terminology, and adages. Rather than lose potential customers to negative messages on Twitter and Facebook, savvy marketers can use social media to publicize positive customer experiences, Qualman advises. He notes that traditional advertising techniques (pre-Web 1.0) are far less effective in reaching the majority of potential customers and that survival requires leveraging social media. Notes and popular literature references are provided for each chapter, along with summaries. The author's complementary blog, Socialnomics--Social Media Blog http://socialnomics.net/, updates the book and illustrates social media concepts. The Social Media Bible, by Lon Safko and David Brake (CH, Sep'09, 47-0374), provides more comprehensive coverage and strategies for implementing social media. Summing Up: Recommended. Practitioners; general readers; undergraduate students at all levels. This review refers to an earlier edition.

--N. J. Johnson, formerly, Metropolitan State University

College graduates seeking employment in their fields face fierce competition, yet jobs are available to those who know where and how to look for them. This is the fundamental message conveyed by Ghilani (director, Career Services, Luzerne County Community College), who boasts nearly 20 years' experience counseling college students and writing articles and career-related books. Her book is designed to assist with the job search process. Thirteen chapters clearly lay out the steps in the process of landing a job and positioning oneself for sustained employability; chapters include guidance on writing a resumé, using social media and networking, interviewing for a job, surviving a first year on the job, and acquiring skills for marketability in the future. Lists (procedures, tips) and illustrative examples are provided. Ghilani's tone is cordial and optimistic, and she utilizes personal pronouns and uncomplicated language as if conversing with the reader. Up-to-date content encompasses Twitter, LinkedIn, e-portfolios, Google+, Facebook, widgets, apps for iPhones/iPads, and other social media in addition to traditional job search tools and techniques. There are appendixes with sample resumés, cover letters, and LinkedIn summaries, and chapter notes. The book's usefulness extends beyond college students to job seekers regardless of age and employment situation. Summing Up: Highly recommended. All collections and readership levels.

--D. Truty, Northeastern Illinois University