Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

RCL Career Resources Communication: General, Reference, and Career

RCL Communication Reference and Career + Choice Titles

Not to be confused with DLB's American Magazine Journalists, 1900-1960. First Series, also edited by the prolific Riley (CH, Nov'90), this volume profiles a divergent array of magazine publishers and editors not captured the first time around. With a few notable exceptions (e.g., Harold Ross, H.L. Mencken), the influential journalists are not household names. Ranging from Hugh Hefner to Robb Hansell Sagendorph, it is an eclectic list of journalists who managed magazines from the latter part of the 19th century to 1960, when the "competition of television was causing magazine publishers to rethink the role of the mass-market periodical." Following the DLB formula, nearly 40 profiles by 34 contributors are arranged alphabetically and include listings of positions held and publications, along with concise and generally well written biographical sketches averaging 8-10 pages. Black-and-white photos are interspersed throughout. Riley's introduction offers historical background but refers the user to the first series for a "fuller general account of American magazine publishing in this period." Appendixes contain rich background material, including editorial statements from initial issues of selected magazines; a long-winded and high-handed statement from The American Mercury (1924) is as revealing as the profile of editor Mencken. Sadly, there is no subject index; in fact, the only index is the standard DLB cumulative index (now an impressive 50 pages). Public, undergraduate, and professional collections.

--J. Cates, formerly, Northwestern University

Aimed at high school and lower-division undergraduates, this guide provides current practical information about 25 career options in the broadcasting, motion picture production, publishing, advertising, and telecommunications industries. Specific entries range from advertising and marketing manager to camera operator, graphic designer, interpreter, journalist, production coordinator, and software and web developer. Each alphabetically arranged chapter includes an overview of the field, environments (work, human, and technological), occupational profile, and typical duties, skills, and abilities needed. Chapters also include sections on education, training, and advancement that address the field from high school, college, and adult job-seeking perspectives. Information on employment outlook and hourly wages, and brief lists of schools and related associations round out each chapter. Nearly all the data are freely available from other sources, notably the Occupational Outlook Handbook http://www.bls.gov/ooh/ (2012-13 ed., CH, Oct'12, 50-0646); what makes this resource most useful are the brief interviews with people in each of the careers. They provide firsthand observations about career paths, opportunities, and changes in the field, as well as a "try this" suggestion for students. A career interest chart and bibliography are included, along with complementary online access with print purchase. Summing Up: Recommended. Lower-level undergraduates and general readers.

--H. C. Williams, University of Washington

According to the editors, this guide aims to be the first reference work to provide a comprehensive overview of the emerging world of digital and new media for teachers and students. The collection includes some 150 essays on a variety of topics including new media studies, digital humanities, electronic literature and art, digital gaming, and aesthetics. It offers a global perspective on the history and future of digital media, with a broad scope incorporating both factual and theoretical approaches. Each of the alphabetically arranged essays includes a list of similar topics and a list of references for further reading. Over 100 contributors are featured, among whom are some of the most established authors in the disciplines covered. While the individual essays are not as in-depth as those found in S. Schreibman, R. Siemens, and J. Unsworth's A Companion to Digital Humanities (2004), this guide provides well-researched entry points to some of the main concepts and terms in this discipline. It is a worthwhile reference for general collections. Summing Up: Recommended. Lower-level undergraduates through researchers/faculty; general readers.

--J. Rodzvilla, Emerson College