Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Online Resources for Business Research (August 2016): Financial News Sites

Celia Ross

Financial News Sites

There are many finance and market news sites, and looking into the various ownership relationships among them provides an interesting glimpse into today’s business-media industry.  CNN Money, owned by Time Warner, used to host both Fortune and Money magazines, but in 2014 Time Inc. spun off from Time Warner, and now Fortune has its own website at fortune.com, while Money is found at time.com/money; ownership information displayed on the footer reveals the interconnections.  All of these sites offer timely coverage of finance and market-related topics, including personal finance and real estate.  MSN Money is another popular finance site that offers streaming stock tickers, personal finance tutorials, business news video feeds from CNBC, and financial news headlines from a wide range of sources.  MarketWatch from Dow Jones/News Corp provides market news, financial analysis, and interactive tools for the individual investor looking to learn about and keep current with financial markets.  Business Insider is another popular source for business news.  As is the case with many news sites, most of the aforementioned publications employ the use of ads as well as so-called “clickbait” content; librarians should advise users accordingly.

Online versions of traditional print sources of business news abound as well.  The Wall Street Journal is one of the most recognized (and highest circulated) publications in the world.  Known for its business and finance news and generally conservative Op-Ed viewpoints, the Wall Street Journal has been owned by News Corp since it took over Dow Jones in late 2007.  Its website offers global market news and also covers personal finance and cultural topics.  Another big name in investment news is Barron’s, a weekly news publication also owned by News Corp.  The Barron’s website offers daily coverage of the stock market and other investment areas and also covers top investment advisers.  A special section of Barron’s called Penta is tailored to “families with assets of $5 million or more.”

The Economist, published in London by the Economist Group, focuses on world events, business, and finance as well as politics, science, technology, and culture.  The Economist Debates section is currently being revamped but will likely retain pro-and-con arguments on various topics that attract commentary and can be voted on by readers.  The Financial Times, with its UK and global finance focus, also covers cultural news, and its website features a section called Lex, a long-standing column focusing on investors, with multiple blogs, photo diaries, and special reports to round out the content.

The New York Times has an extensive business section covering international market and economic news as well as small business and personal finance topics.  A Dealbook section focuses on mergers and private equity topics.  Its Personal Tech section provides reviews, analysis, and commentary on the latest consumer devices and apps.  It should be noted, too, that articles containing bits of data and references to additional sources of information on consumer topics and industries appear in all sections of the New York Times (or other news outlets), not just the business section.

The websites of nearly all of these publications offer limited numbers of articles and other free content.  While academic institutions may license the full-text article content of these publications, full access and functionality requires an individual subscription, in most cases.