Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

A Guide to Openly Accessible Media and Streaming Video Content (January 2021): Works Cited

by Susan Ariew, LeEtta Schmidt, and Matt Torrence

Works Cited

Gateway Resources
Internet Archive
https://archive.org/
Khan Academy
https://www.khanacademy.org
Khan Academy (YouTube)
https://www.youtube.com/user/khanacademy/videos?app=desktop
Library of Congress Digital Collections
https://www.loc.gov/collections
MERLOT
California State University System
https://www.merlot.org/merlot/index.htm
OER Commons
ISKME
https://www.oercommons.org
Open Culture
Open Culture, LLC
http://www.openculture.com/freemoviesonline
OV: The Open Video Project
Interaction Design Laboratory at the School of Information and Library Science, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
https://open-video.org
TED Talks
TED Conferences, LLC
https://www.ted.com/talks/
YouTube
https://www.youtube.com/
Subject-Specific Resources
HUMANITIES
Alvin Ailey Dance Theater
Alvin Ailey Dance Foundation, Inc
http: www.alvinailey.org
Britannica: Literature
https://www.britannica.com/videos/Literature
The British Museum (Google Arts & Culture)
https://artsandculture.google.com/partner/the-british-museum
Discovering Literature
British Library
https://www.bl.uk/discovering-literature
Google Arts & Culture
https://artsandculture.google.com/
HistoryView VR
https://historyview.org
Innovative Language Learning (YouTube)
https://www.youtube.com/user/innovativelanguage
J. Paul Getty Museum
https://artsandculture.google.com/partner/the-j-paul-getty-museum
Jacob’s Pillow Dance Interactive
Jacob’s Pillow Dance Festival, Inc.
https://danceinteractive.jacobspillow.org
Lincoln Center AT HOME
Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts
http://lincolncenter.org/lincoln-center-at-home
Louvre Online Tours
https://www.louvre.fr/en/visites-en-ligne#tabs
Lumière
Berkeley Language Center
https://lumiere.berkeley.edu/
MASP—Museu de Arte de São Paulo Assis Chateaubriand (Google Arts and Culture)
https://artsandculture.google.com/partner/masp?hl=en
Moving Image Archive
Internet Archive
https://archive.org/details/movies
The National Gallery (London)
https://www.nationalgallery.org.uk/visiting/virtual-tours
Open Heritage (Google Arts & Culture)
https://artsandculture.google.com/project/openheritage
PBS Learning Media (YouTube)
YouTube Inc.
https://www.youtube.com/user/pbslearningmedia
Philosophy Tube
https://www.youtube.com/user/thephilosophytube
Philosophy TV
http://www.philostv.com/
The Review of Religions (YouTube)
https://www.youtube.com/c/TheReviewofReligions/videos
Rijks Museum (Google Arts and Culture)
https://artsandculture.google.com/partner/rijksmuseum
TED Talks: Philosophy
https://www.ted.com/topics/philosophy
Vatican Museums
http://www.museivaticani.va/content/museivaticani/en/collezioni/musei/tour-virtuali-elenco.html
The Video Cellar Collection
Internet Archive
https://archive.org/details/TheVideoCellarCollection
Wi-Phi
https://wi-phi.com
YouTube Music
https://music.youtube.com/
SCIENCE & TECHNOLOGY
AMS Resources & Updates Related to COVID-19
American Mathematical Society
http://www.ams.org/home/covid-19
Apollo in Real Time
NASA
https://apolloinrealtime.org
Khan Academy: Math
https://www.khanacademy.org/math
Macaulay Library
The Cornell Lab of Ornithology
https://www.macaulaylibrary.org
National Geographic
National Geographic Partners, LLC
https://www.nationalgeographic.com
National Science Digital Library
https://nsdl.oercommons.org
The Natural History Museum, London (Google Arts & Culture)
https://artsandculture.google.com/partner/natural-history-museum
NOVA: Body and Brain
WGBH Educational Foundation
https://www.pbs.org/wgbh/nova/topic/body/
Smithsonian Museum of Natural History
https://naturalhistory2.si.edu/vt3/NMNH/
TED Talks: Science
https://www.ted.com/talks?topics%5B%5D=Science&sort=newest
SOCIAL & BEHAVIORAL SCIENCES
Annenberg Learner
Annenberg Foundation
https://www.learner.org
The Archaeology Channel
Archaeological Legacy Institute, Non-Profit
https://www.archaeologychannel.org
Best Business Lectures (YouTube)
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL-rRptl6U8YFUrcA41B_NW2njJoh8LVUl
Burke Museum (YouTube)
University of Washington, College of Arts & Sciences
https://www.youtube.com/user/burkemuseum
Business and Economy (PBS Frontline)
WGBH Educational Foundation
https://www.pbs.org/wgbh/frontline/topic/business-and-economy/
CrashCourse (YouTube)
https://www.youtube.com/user/crashcourse/about
Discovering Psychology: Updated Edition (Annenberg Learner)
Annenberg Foundation
https://www.learner.org/series/discovering-psychology/
Education Week/Video
Editorial Projects in Education
https://video.edweek.org
History Channel (YouTube)
A&E Television Networks, LLC
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC9MAhZQQd9egwWCxrwSIsJQ
Khan Academy Economics & Finance (YouTube)
https://www.youtube.com/user/khanacademy/playlists?view=50&sort=dd&shelf_id=11
Penn Museum (YouTube)
https://www.youtube.com/user/pennmuseum
The Sociological Cinema
https://www.thesociologicalcinema.com
TeacherTube
https://www.teachertube.com
Teaching & Learning Exploratory
The Regents of the University of Michigan
https://tle.soe.umich.edu
TED Talks: Best Business Videos (YouTube)
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLkJ1DTzH7eWdQpl5EapGat2zN2E7bfxlA
TED Talks: History
https://www.ted.com/talks?page=3&sort=newest&topics%5B%5D=history
TedEd: Literature
https://ed.ted.com/lessons?category=literature
Video Interviews with Top Young Adult Authors
WETA Washington, D.C.
http://www.adlit.org/articles/authors
Videos of the Month Archive (YouTube)
Kathy Schrock
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLaczy7xtYh2KT2r_txJroAbYEnIz10ydA
Vlogbrothers (YouTube)
https://www.youtube.com/user/vlogbrothers