Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

The Music of the Gilded Age (March 2021): Works Cited

by John Druesedow

Works Cited

Notes
1.    Paul Charosh, “’Popular’ and ‘Classical’ in Mid-Nineteenth Century American Music,” American Music 10, no. 2 (1992): 117–35.

2.    Joseph Horowitz, “Henry Krehbiel: German American, Music Critic,” The Journal of the Gilded Age and Progressive Era 8, no. 2 (2009): 165–87.

3.    “Nineteenth-Century Special Issue,” American Music 21, no 3 (2003).

4.     Also valuable as an overview is Steven Bauer’s “Music, Morals, and Social Management,” American Music 19, no. 1 (2001): 64–130.

5.    John Kelly, “Here’s the Story behind Sousa’s Famous ‘Washington Post March,’”  The Washington Post, June 14, 2014.       https://www.washingtonpost.com/local/heres-the-story-behind-sousas-famous-washington-post-march/2014/06/14/c804553e-f23b-11e3-914c-1fbd0614e2d4_story.htm.

6.    For an extensive and well-documented account of popular music, including song sheets, see Paul Charosh, “Studying Nineteenth-Century Popular Song,” American Music 15, no. 4 (1997): 459–92.

7.    A pianola roll performance of “Maple Leaf Rag” on YouTube, claimed to be by Joplin himself, is a rough-and-tumble, whiz-bang version of his best-known rag.  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kUfjwaoufrs.


Works Cited
American Music. q. (1983-) https://www.press.uillinois.edu/journals/am.html.

American Orchestras in the Nineteenth Century, ed. by John Spitzer. Chicago, 2012 (CH, Sep’12, 50-0187).

Berlin, Edward A. Ragtime: A Musical and Cultural History. California, 1980 (CH, Dec’80).

Blesh, Rudy, and Harriet Janis. They All Played Ragtime: The True Story of an American Music. New York: Knopf, 1950; 4th ed., Oak Publications, 1971.

Bordman, Gerald Martin. American Operetta: From H.M.S. Pinafore to Sweeney Todd. Oxford, 1981 (CH, Dec’80).

Borroff, Edith. American Operas: A Checklist. Harmonie Park Press, 1992 (CH, Jun’93, 30-5321).

The Cambridge History of American Music, ed. by David Nicholls. Cambridge, 1998. (CH, Sep’99, 37-0209).

Cashman, Sean Dennis. America in the Gilded Age: From the Death of Lincoln to the Rise of Theodore Roosevelt. New York, 1988; 3rd ed., 1993.

Chase, Gilbert. America’s Music: From the Pilgrims to the Present. McGraw Hill, 1955; 3rd ed., Illinois, 1987 (CH, Jun’88).

Crawford, Richard. America’s Musical Life: A History. Norton, 2001 (CH, May’01, 38-4955).

Dizikes, John. Opera in America: A Cultural History. Yale, 1993 (CH, Jan’94, 31-2594).

Dvoƙák and His World, ed. by Michael Beckerman. Princeton, 1993 (CH, Feb’94, 31-3170).

Fay, Amy. Music-Study in Germany: From the Home Correspondence of Amy Fay. Macmillan, 1886. [HathiTrust Digital Library; Project Gutenberg].

Finson, Jon W. The Voices That Are Gone: Themes in Nineteenth-Century American Popular Song. Oxford, 1994 (CH, Dec’94, 32-2048).

Goldman, Richard Franko. The Wind Band: Its Literature and Technique. Allyn and Bacon, 1961.

Hamm, Charles. Music in the New World. Norton, 1983.

Horowitz, Joseph. Wagner Nights: An American History. California, 1994 (CH, Sep’95, 33-0204).

Howard, John Tasker. Our American Music: A Comprehensive History from 1620 to the Present. T. Y. Crowell, 1933; 4th ed., 1965 (CH, Mar’66).

Kirk, Elise K. American Opera. Illinois, 2001 (CH, Dec’01, 39-2103).

Knapp, Raymond. The American Musical and the Formation of National Identity. Princeton, 2005 (CH, May’05, 42-5171).

Kreitner, Kenneth. Discoursing Sweet Music: Town Bands and Community Life in Turn-of-the-Century Pennsylvania. Illinois, 1989 (CH, Sep’90, 28-0211).

The Late Romantic Era: From the Mid-19th Century to World War I, ed. by Jim Samson, Prentice Hall, 1991.

Levine, Lawrence W. Highbrow/Lowbrow: The Emergence of Cultural Hierarchy in America. Harvard, 1988 (CH, Jul’89, 26-6465).

Levy, Lester S. Picture the Songs: Lithographs from the Sheet Music of Nineteenth-Century America. Johns Hopkins, 1976.

Lott, R. Allen. From Paris to Peoria: How European Piano Virtuosos Brought Classical Music to the American Heartland. Oxford, 2003.

Martin, George Whitney. The Damrosch Dynasty: America’s First Family of Music. Houghton Mifflin, 1983 (CH, Mar’84).

Millard, A. J. America on Record: A History of Recorded Sound. Cambridge: Cambridge, 2005 (CH, Jan’96, 33-2660).

Music, Sound, and Technology in America: A Documentary History of Early Phonograph, Cinema, and Radio, ed. by Timothy D. Taylor. Duke, 2012 (CH, Dec’12, 50-1982).

Ogasapian, John, and N. Lee Orr. Music of the Gilded Age. Greenwood, 2007 (CH, Dec’07, 45-1950).

The Oxford Handbook of the American Musical, ed. by Raymond Knapp, Mitchell Morris, and Stacy Wolf. Oxford, 2005.

Rhodes, Stephen L. A History of the Wind Band. Lipscomb University, 2007. https://ww2.lipscomb.edu/windbandhistory/index.htm.

Root, Deane L. American Popular Stage Music, 1860–1880. UMI Research Press, 1981 (CH, Jan’82).

Russell, Charles Edward. The American Orchestra and Theodore Thomas. Doubleday, Page, 1927; reprint, Greenwood, 1971.

Schwab, Arnold T. James Gibbons Huneker: Critic of the Seven Arts. Stanford, 1963.

Ware, W. Porter, and Thaddeus C. Lockard, Jr. P. T. Barnum Presents Jenny Lind: The American Tour of the Swedish Nightingale. Louisiana State, 1980.

Warfield, Patrick. Making the March King: John Philip Sousa’s Washington Years, 1854–1893. Illinois, 2013 (CH, Jun’14, 51-5505).

The Wind Ensemble and Its Repertoire: Essays on the Fortieth Anniversary of the Eastman Wind Ensemble, ed. by Frank J. Cipolla and Donald Hunsberger. Rochester, 1994.

Yellin, Victor Fell. Chadwick: Yankee Composer. Smithsonian Institution Press, 1990 (CH, Jan’91, 28-2659).


Music & Recordings
Favorite Songs of the Nineties: Complete Original Sheet Music for 89 Songs, ed. by Robert A. Fremont. Dover Publications, 1973.

Joplin, Scott. Piano Rags, performed and with liner notes by Joshua Rifkin. 3v. Nonesuch Records, 1970–74. (H-71248; H-71264; H-71305).

More Favorite Songs of the Nineties: Complete Original Sheet Music for 62 Songs, ed. by Fremont and Paul Charosh. Dover Publications, 1975.

Songs of the Gilded Age, sel. and ed. by Margaret Bradford Boni. Golden Press, 1960.

 

Websites & Archives
Handbook of Texas. Texas State Historical Association. https://www.tshaonline.org/handbook/entries/van-der-stucken-frank-valentine.

Historic Sheet Music Collection, 1800 to 1922. Library of Congress. https://www.loc.gov/collections/historic-sheet-music/.

The Lester S. Levy Sheet Music Collection. Sheridan Libraries and University Museums, Johns Hopkins. https://levysheetmusic.mse.jhu.edu/ (CH, Oct’00, 38-0855).

New World Records. https://www.newworldrecords.org/.

Patrick S. Gilmore and the Boston Peace Jubilees. Center for American Music Preservation (CAMP). htttp://americanmusicpreservation.com/BostonPeaceJubilees.htm

Stanford University Piano Roll Archive (SUPRA). https://exhibits.stanford.edu/supra/feature/supra-website.

UCSB Cylinder Audio Archive. University of California at Santa Barbara. http://cylinders.library.ucsb.edu/.