Adams, Ansel. Ansel Adams’ Yosemite. Essay on the special editions prints by Alan Ross. Little, Brown, 2019.
Alinder, Mary Street. Ansel Adams: A Biography. (Orig. published by Henry Holt, 1996.) Rev. and updated ed., Bloomsbury, 2014.
Barr, Nevada. High Country. Putnam, 2004.
Beveridge, Charles E., and Paul Rocheleau. Frederick Law Olmsted: Designing the American Landscape, ed. by David Larkin. (Orig. published, 1995.) Rev. and updated ed. Rizzoli, 2021.
Braun, Marta. Eadweard Muybridge. Reaktion, 2010.
Brewer, William. Up and Down California in 1860-1864: The Journal of William H. Brewer, ed. by Francis P. Farquhar. Yale, 1930. Digitized copy at https://archive.org/details/
updowncalifornia01will/page/n11/mode/2up.
Browning, Peter. Yosemite Place Names: The Historic Background of Geographic Names in Yosemite National Park. Great West, 1988.
Brunner, Laura White. Cliffs and Challenges: A Young Woman Explores Yosemite, 1915-1917, ed. by Jared N. Champion. Kansas, [2019].
Clayton, John. Natural Rivals: John Muir, Gifford Pinchot, and the Creation of America’s Public Lands. Pegasus, 2019.
Clegg, Brian. The Man Who Stopped Time: The Illuminating Story of Eadweard Muybridge: Pioneer Photographer, Father of the Motion Picture, Murderer. Joseph Henry Press, 2007.
Cohen, Michael P. The Pathless Way: John Muir and the American Wilderness. Wisconsin, 1984.
Diamant, Rolf, and Ethan Carr. Olmsted and Yosemite: Civil War, Abolition, and the National Park Idea. Library of American Landscape History, 2022.
Drabelle, Dennis. The Power of Scenery: Frederick Law Olmsted and the Origin of National Parks. Nebraska, 2021 (CH, May’22, 59-2695).
Duncan, Dayton. Seed of the Future: Yosemite and the Evolution of the National Park Idea. Yosemite Conservancy, 2013.
Ehrlich, Gretel. John Muir: Nature’s Visionary. National Geographic Society, 2000.
Farquhar, Francis P. History of the Sierra Nevada. (Orig. published, 1966.) Reprint, California, 2007.
Fox, Stephen R. The American Conservation Movement: John Muir and His Legacy. (Orig. published as John Muir and His Legacy by Little, Brown, 1981.) Reprint, Wisconsin, 1985.
Ghiglieri, Michael P. and Charles R. Farabee. Off the Wall: Death in Yosemite. Puma Press, 2007.
Glazner, Allen F., and Greg M. Stock. Geology Underfoot in Yosemite National Park. Mountain Press, 2010.
Greeley, Horace. An Overland Journey from New York to San Francisco in the Summer of 1859. (Orig. published by C. M. Saxton, Barker & Co., 1860) Reprint, Nebraska, 1999. Digitized copy at https://archive.org/details/anoverlandjourn00greegoog/mode/2up.
Green, Tyler. Carleton Watkins: Making the West American. California, 2018.
Grinnell, Joseph, and Tracy Irwin Storer. Animal Life in the Yosemite: An Account of the Mammals, Birds, Reptiles, and Amphibians in a Cross-Section of the Sierra Nevada. (Orig. published by California, 1924.) Forgotten Books, 2022. Digitized copy at https://archive.org/details/animallifeinyose00grin/mode/2up.
Gruell, George E. Fire in Sierra Nevada Forests: A Photographic Interpretation of Ecological Change since 1849. Mountain Press, 2001.
Guyton, Bill. Glaciers of California: Modern Glaciers, Ice Age Glaciers, the Origin of Yosemite Valley, and a Glacier Tour in the Sierra Nevada. California, 1998 (CH, Mar’99, 36-3919).
Hammond, Anne. Ansel Adams: Divine Performance. Yale, 2002 (CH, Dec’02, 40-1987).
Hassrick, Peter H. Albert Bierstadt: Witness to a Changing West. Oklahoma, 2018.
Heacox, Kim. John Muir and the Ice That Started a Fire: How a Visionary and the Glaciers of Alaska Changed America. Lyons Press, 2014 (CH, Nov’14, 52-1406).
Hendricks, Gordon. Albert Bierstadt: Painter of the American West. Harrison House, 1988.
Hennessey, Beverly. Hetch Hetchy. Arcadia, 2012.
Hill, Mary. Geology of the Sierra Nevada. California, 1975. Digitized copy at https://archive.org/details/geologyofsierran00hill/mode/2up.
Holmes, Steven J. The Young John Muir: An Environmental Biography. Wisconsin, 1999 (CH, Nov’99, 37-1519).
Huber, N. King. Geological Ramblings in Yosemite. Yosemite Association, 2007.
Huntley, Jen A. The Making of Yosemite: James Mason Hutchings and the Origin of America’s Most Popular National Park. Kansas, 2011 (CH, Jun’12, 49-5876).
Inskeep, Steve. Imperfect Union: How Jessie and John Frémont Mapped the West, Invented Celebrity, and Helped Cause the Civil War. Penguin, 2021.
King, Clarence. Mountaineering in Sierra Nevada, ed. and with a preface by Francis P. Farquhar. (Orig. published by James Osgood & Co., 1872.) Nebraska, [1997].
King, Thomas Starr. A Vacation among the Sierras: Yosemite in 1860, ed., with an introduction and notes, by John A. Hussey. (Orig. published in the Boston Evening Transcript, Dec-Jan 1860-61.) Book Club of California, 1962.
Kruska, Dennis G. Thomas Almond Ayres : First Artist of Yo Semite (1818-1859). Zamorano Club, 2010.
LeConte, Joseph. The Autobiography of Joseph LeConte, ed. by William Dallam Armes. 3v. Appleton, 1903. Digitized copy at https://catalog.hathitrust.org/api/volumes/oclc/748642.html.
____. A Journal of Ramblings through the High Sierra of California. Sierra Club, 1900. Digitized copy at https://memory.loc.gov/cgi-bin/ampage?collId=amrvg&fileName=vg22//amrvgvg22.db&recNum=0.
Matthes, François. The Incomparable Valley: A Geologic Interpretation of the Yosemite, ed. by Fritiof Fryxell. (Orig. published, 1950.) California, 1956.
Meyerson, Harvey, and Beth Bailey. Nature’s Army: When Soldiers Fought for Yosemite. (Orig. published, 2001.) Kansas, 2020.
Miller, Char. Gifford Pinchot and the Making of Modern Environmentalism. Island Press, 2001.
____. Seeking the Greatest Good: The Conservation Legacy of Gifford Pinchot. Pittsburgh, 2013 (CH, Aug’14, 51-6738).
Miller, Rod. John Muir: Magnificent Tramp. Macmillan, 2009.
Miller, Sally M. John Muir: Life and Work. New Mexico, 1993 (CH, Jul’94, 31-6012).
Moore, James Gregory. King of the 40th Parallel: Discovery in the American West. Stanford General Books, 2006 (CH, Jan’07, 44-2884).
Muir, John. Kindred & Related Spirits: The Letters of John Muir and Jeanne C. Carr, ed. by Bonnie Johanna Gisel. Utah, 2001 (CH, Jan’02, 39-2769).
____. The Life and Letters of John Muir. Vol. 2, ed. by William Frederic Badè. (Orig. published by Houghton Mifflin, 1924.) Forgotten Books, 2018. Digitized copy at https://www.forgottenbooks.com/en/readbook/
TheLifeandLettersofJohnMuir_10507578#0.
____. My First Summer in the Sierra. (Orig. published by Houghton Mifflin, 1911.) Warbler Press, 2021. Digitized copy at https://vault.sierraclub.org/john_muir_exhibit/
writings/my_first_summer_in_the_sierra/
____. To Yosemite and Beyond: Writings from the Years 1863-1875, ed. by Robert Engberg and Donald Wesling. (Orig. published by Wisconsin, 1980.) Reprint, Utah, 1999.
____. The Yosemite. (Orig. published by Century, 1912.) Dover, 2018. Digitized copy at https://archive.org/details/yosemite00
unkngoog/mode/2up.
Muir, John, and Edwin Way Teale. The Wilderness World of John Muir. Introduction and comments by Edwin Way Teale. (Orig. published, 1954.) Houghton Mifflin, 2001.
Naef, Weston. Carleton Watkins in Yosemite. J. Paul Getty Museum, 2009.
Orsi, Richard J., Alfred Runte, and Marlene Smith-Baranzini. Yosemite and Sequoia: A Century of California National Parks. California, 1993.
Perrottet, Tony. John Muir’s Yosemite. New Word City, 2014.
Pinkett, Harold T. Gifford Pinchot: Private and Public Forester. Illinois, 1970.
Reidhead, Joe. Half Dome: The History of Yosemite’s Iconic Mountain. Reidhead & Co, 2019.
Righter, Robert W. The Battle over Hetch Hetchy: America’s Most Controversial Dam and the Birth of Modern Environmentalism. Oxford, 2005.
Robertson, David. West of Eden: History of the Art and Literature of Yosemite. Wilderness Press, 1984.
Robinson, Kim Stanley. The High Sierra: A Love Story. Little, Brown, 2022.
Rowell, Galen A. Mountain Light: In Search of the Dynamic Landscape. Random House, 1986.
____. The Vertical World of Yosemite: A Collection of Photographs and Writings on Rock Climbing in Yosemite. Wilderness Press, 1992.
Runte, Alfred. National Parks: The American Experience. (Orig. published, 1979.) 4th ed., Nebraska, 2010.
____. Yosemite: The Embattled Wilderness. (Orig. published by Nebraska, 1990.) Rev. and updated ed., Lyons Press, 2020. (CH, Jan’91, 28-2714).
Russell, Carl Parcher. One Hundred Years in Yosemite: The Story of a Great Park and Its Friends. (Orig. published by Stanford, 1932.) Yosemite Association, 1992. Digitized copy at https://archive.org/details/onehundred
yearsi0000russ/.
Sanborn, Margaret. Yosemite: Its Discovery, Its Wonders & Its People. (Orig. published by Random House, 1981.) Reprint, Heyday Books, 2008.
Schaffer, Jeffrey P. Yosemite National Park: A Natural-History Guide to Yosemite and Its Trails. (Orig. published, 1978.) 3rd ed., Wilderness Press, 1992.
Simpson, John Warfield. Dam!: Water, Power, Politics, and Preservation in Hetch Hetchy and Yosemite National Park. Pantheon Books, 2005 (CH, Jan’06, 43-2777).
Solnit, Rebecca. River of Shadows: Eadweard Muybridge and the Technological Wild West. Viking, 2003 (CH, Jun’03, 40-5623).
Spaulding, Jonathan. Ansel Adams and the American Landscape: A Biography. California, 1995.
Starr, Kevin. Americans and the California Dream: 1850-1915. (Orig. published, 1973.) Oxford, 1986.
Stephens, Lester D. Joseph LeConte: Gentle Prophet of Evolution. Louisiana, 1982.
Taliaferro, John. Grinnell: America’s Environmental Pioneer and His Restless Drive to Save the West. Liveright, 2019.
Thomas, Peter, and Donna Thomas. Muir Ramble Route: Walking from San Francisco to Yosemite in the Footsteps of John Muir: A Guide for Hiking from San Francisco to Yosemite. Poetic Matrix, 2010.
Turner, Tom. David Brower: The Making of the Environmental Movement. California, 2015 (CH, Mar’16, 53-3085).
Vale, Thomas R., and Geraldine R. Vale. Walking with Muir across Yosemite. Wisconsin, 1998 (CH, Sep’98, 36-0290).
Wadsworth, Ginger. John Muir: Wilderness Protector. Lerner Publications, 1992.
Watkins, Carleton E. Carleton Watkins: The Complete Mammoth Photographs, [ed. by] Weston J. Naef and Christine Hult-Lewis. J. Paul Getty Museum, 2011 (CH, May’12, 49-4883).
Wendte, Charles. Thomas Starr King: Patriot and Preacher. Beacon, 1921. Digitized copy at https://archive.org/details/thomasstarrkin
g00wend.
Wessels, Tom. The Granite Landscape: A Natural History of America’s Mountain Domes, from Acadia to Yosemite. Countryman Press, 2001.
Whitney, Josiah Dwight. The Yosemite Guide-Book. Geological Survey of California, 1871. Digitized copy at https://quod.lib.umich.edu/cgi/t/text/text-idx?c=moa;idno=AJL3519.0001.001.
Wilkins, Thurman. Clarence King: A Biography. (Orig. published by Macmillan Co., 1958.)
2nd rev. ed. New Mexico, 1988.
Williams, Dennis C. God’s Wilds: John Muir’s Vision of Nature. Texas A&M, 2002.
____. John Muir: Apostle of Nature. Oklahoma, 1995.
Wilson, Brian C. The California Days of Ralph Waldo Emerson. Massachusetts, 2022.
Wolfe, Linnie Marsh. Son of the Wilderness: The Life of John Muir. Wisconsin, 2003.
Worster, Donald. A Passion for Nature: The Life of John Muir. Oxford, 2008 (CH, Mar’09, 46-3834).
Wurm, Ted. Hetch Hetchy and Its Dam Railroad: the Story of the Uniquely Equipped Railroad That Serviced the Camps, Dams, Tunnels, and Penstocks of the 20-Year Construction Project to Bring Water from the Sierra to San Francisco. Howell-North, [1973].
Yelverton, Thérèse. Zanita: A Tale of the Yo-Semite. (Orig. published by Hurd & Houghton, 1872.)Reprint, Ten Speed Press, 1991.
Yosemite: Art of an American Icon, ed. by Amy Scott. Copublished with Autry National Center. California, 2006 (CH, Jun’07, 44-5452).
Young, Christian. The Environment and Science: Social Impact and Interaction. ABC-CLIO, 2005.