Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Book History and Print Culture at the Millennium (March 2014): Works Cited

by James K. Bracken

Works Cited

Adamson, Judith.  Max Reinhardt: A Life in Publishing.  Palgrave Macmillan, 2009.

Are Books Becoming Extinct?, ed. by David Haugen and Susan Musser.  Greenhaven, 2012.

Bartram, Alan.  Five Hundred Years of Book Design.  Yale, 2001.

Basbanes, Nicholas A.  A Splendor of Letters: The Permanence of Books in an Impermanent World.  HarperCollins, 2003.

The Book History Reader, ed. by David Finkelstein and Alistair McCleery.  2nd ed.  Routledge, 2006.

A Book of the Book: Some Works & Projections about the Book & Writing, ed. by Jerome Rothenberg and Steven Clay.  Granary Books, 2000.

Borgman, Christine L.  Scholarship in the Digital Age: Information, Infrastructure, and the Internet.  MIT, 2007 (CH, Apr’08, 45-4424).

Briggs, Asa.  A History of Longmans and Their Books, 1724-1990: Longevity in Publishing.  London: British Library, 2008.

The British Book Trade: An Oral History, ed. by Sue Bradley.  London: British Library, 2008.

The British Book Trade, 1475-1890: A Bibliography, comp. by T. H. Howard-Hill.  2v.  Oak Knoll/British Library/Bibliographical Society/Bibliographical Society of America, 2009 (CH, Jul’09, 46-5930).

The Cambridge History of the Book in Britain (series), ed. by David McKitterick, I. R. Willison, D. F. McKenzie, John Barnard.  6v.  Cambridge, 1998-2012. Volume 7 forthcoming.

Carpenter, Humphrey.  The Seven Lives of John Murray: The Story of a Publishing Dynasty, 1768-2002, ed. by Candida Brazil and James Hamilton.  London: John Murray, 2008.

Carrière, Jean-Claude, and Umberto Eco.  This Is Not the End of the Book: A Conversation Curated by Jean-Philippe de Tonnac, tr. by Polly McLean.  London: Harvill Secker, 2011.

The Colonial Book in the Atlantic World, edited by Hugh Amory and David D. Hall.  (History of the Book in America, v.1) Cambridge/American Antiquarian Society, 2000.

A Companion to the History of the Book, ed. by Simon Eliot and Jonathan Rose.  Blackwell, 2007 (CH, Feb’08, 45-2928).

Consuming Books: The Marketing and Consumption of Literature, ed. by Stephen Brown.  Routledge, 2006.

Cowley, Des, and Clare Williamson.  The World of the Book.  Victoria: Miegunyah Press/State Library of Victoria, 2007.

Darnton, Robert.  The Case for Books: Past, Present, and Future.  Public Affairs, 2009 (CH, Jun’10, 47-5364).

De Bellaigue, Eric.  British Book Publishing as a Business since the 1960s: Selected Essays.  London: British Library, 2004.

Deegan, Marilyn, and Kathryn Sutherland.  Transferred Illusions: Digital Technology and the Forms of Print.  Ashgate, 2009.

The Edinburgh History of the Book in Scotland (series), ed. by Bill Bell, David Finkelstein, and Alistair McCleery.  Columbia, 2008.

The Enduring Book: Print Culture in Postwar America, edited by David Paul Nord, Joan Shelley Rubin, and Michael Schudson.  (History of the Book in America, v.5) North Carolina/American Antiquarian Society, 2009.

Epstein, Jason.  Book Business: Publishing, Past, Present, and Future.  Norton, 2001.

An Extensive Republic: Print, Culture, and Society in the New Nation, edited by Robert A. Gross and Mary Kelley.  (History of the Book in America, v.2) North Carolina/American Antiquarian Society, 2010.

Finkelstein, David, and Alistair McCleery.  An Introduction to Book History.  Routledge, 2005; 2nd ed. 2012.

The Future of the Book in the Digital Age, ed. by Bill Cope and Angus Phillips.  Oxford: Chandos, 2006.

Garfield, Simon.  Just My Type: A Book about Fonts.  Gotham Books, 2010.

Gaskell, Philip.  A New Introduction to BibliographyOak Knoll/St. Paul’s Bibliographies, 2009.

Gomez, Jeff.  Print Is Dead: Books in Our Digital Age.  Macmillan, 2008 (CH, Jun’08, 45-5367).

Greco, Albert N.  The Book Publishing Industry.  2nd ed.  Erlbaum, 2005.

Greco, Albert N., Clara W. Rodriguez, and Robert M. Wharton.  The Culture and Commerce of Publishing in the 21st Century.  Stanford Business Books, 2007.

Heller, Steven, and Louise Fili.  Scripts: Elegant Lettering from Design’s Golden Age.  Thames & Hudson, 2011.

A History of the Book in America (series), ed. David D. Hall.  5v. American Antiquarian Society/North Carolina, 2000-2010.

A History of the Book in Australia (series), ed. by John Arnold et al.  Queensland University, 2001-.

History of the Book in Canada (series), ed. by Patricia Lockhart Fleming, Gilles Gallichan, and Yvan Lamonde.  Toronto, 2004-.

The History of the Book in the West: A Library of Critical Essays, ed. by Alexis Weedon.  Ashgate, 2010.

Howard, Nicole.  The Book: The Life Story of a Technology.  Greenwood, 2005 (CH, Mar’06, 43-3729).

Howsam, Leslie.  Old Books and New Histories: An Orientation to Studies in Book and Print Culture.  Toronto, 2006.

Immigrant Publishers: The Impact of Expatriate Publishers in Britain and America in the 20th Century, ed. by Richard Abel and Gordon Graham.  Transaction, 2009.

Index to British Literary Bibliography (series), comp. by T. H. Howard-Hill.  8v.  Oxford, 1969-2009.

The Industrial Book, 1840-1880, edited by Scott E. Casper, Jeffrey D. Groves, Stephen W. Nissenbaum, and Michael Winship.  (History of the Book in America, v.3) North Carolina/American Antiquarian Society, 2007.

Jackson, H. J.  Marginalia: Readers Writing in Books.  Yale, 2001 (CH, Sep’01, 39-0069).

John Wiley & Sons: 200 Years of Publishing, curated by Peter Booth Wiley and Frances Chaves.  John Wiley & Sons, 2010.

Judging a Book by Its Cover: Fans, Publishers, Designers, and the Marketing of Fiction, ed. by Nicole Matthews and Nickianne Moody.  Ashgate, 2007.

Kelly, Jerry.  The Art of the Book in the Twentieth Century: A Study of Eleven Influential Book Designers from 1900 to 2000.  RIT Cary Graphic Arts Library, 2011.

Kova─Ź, Miha.  Never Mind the Web: Here Comes the Book.  Oxford: Chandos, 2008.

The Late American Novel: Writers on the Future of Books, ed. by Jeff Martin and C. Max Magee.  Soft Skull, 2011.

Lee, Marshall.  Bookmaking: Editing, Design, Production.  3rd ed.  Norton, 2004 (CH, Oct’04, 42-0650).

Lewis, Jeremy.  Penguin Special: The Life and Times of Allen Lane.  Penguin Books, 2005.

Loney, Alan.  The Books to Come.  Cuneiform Press, 2010.

Lupoff, Richard A.  The Great American Paperback: An Illustrated Tribute to the Legends of the Book.  1st American ed.  Collectors Press, 2001.

Lyons, Martyn.  Books: A Living History.  J. Paul Getty Museum, 2011 (CH, Mar’12, 49-3590).

Mak, Bonnie.  How the Page Matters.  Toronto, 2011.

Martin, Bill, and Xuemei Tian.  Book, Bytes and Business: The Promise of Digital Publishing.  Ashgate, 2010.

Maschler, Tom.  Publisher.  London: Picador, 2005.

Meggs, Philip B., and Alston W. Purvis.  Meggs’ History of Graphic Design.  5th ed.  John Wiley & Sons, 2012.

Miles, Barry.  In the Sixties.  London: Jonathan Cape, 2002.

Moss, Mark.  Toward the Visualization of History: The Past as Image Lexington Books, 2008 (CH, Jun’09, 46-5760).

Mountain, Penny, with Christopher Foyle.  Foyles: A Celebration.  London: Foyles, 2003.

Norrie, Ian.  Mentors and Friends: Short Lives of Prominent Publishers and Booksellers I Have Known.  London: Elliot and Thompson, 2006.

The Oxford Companion to the Book, ed. by Michael F. Suarez and H. R. Woudhuysen.  Oxford, 2010 (CH, Oct’10, 48-0599).

The Oxford History of the Irish Book (series), ed. by Robert Welch and Brian Walker.  Oxford, 2005-.

Pearson, David.  Books as History: The Importance of Books beyond Their Texts.  British Library/Oak Knoll, 2008 (CH, Apr’09, 46-4167).

Persky, Stan.  Reading the 21st Century: Books of the Decade, 2000-2009.  Montreal and Kingston: McGill-Queen’s, 2011 (CH, Feb’12, 49-3011).

A Potencie of Life: Books in Society: The Clark Lectures, 1986-1987, ed. by Nicolas Barker.  Oak Knoll, 2001.

Price, Leah.  How to Do Things with Books in Victorian Britain.  Princeton, 2012 (CH, Sep’12, 50-0021).

Print in Motion: The Expansion of Publishing and Reading in the United States, 1880-1940, ed. by Carl F. Kaestle and Janice A. Radway.  (History of the Book in America, v.4) North Carolina/American Antiquarian Society, 2009.

Schiffrin, Andre.  The Business of Books: How International Conglomerates Took Over Publishing and Changed the Way We Read.  Verso, 2000.

The State of Scholarly Publishing: Challenges and Opportunities, ed. by Albert N. Greco.  Transaction, 2009.

Stevenson, Iain.  Book Makers: British Publishing in the Twentieth Century.  London: British Library, 2010.

Stoicheff, Peter, and Andrew Taylor.  The Future of the Page.  University of Toronto Press, 2004.

Striphas, Ted.  The Late Age of Print: Everyday Book Culture from Consumerism to Control.  Columbia, 2009 (CH, Oct’09, 47-0611).

Sutherland, John.  Reading the Decades: Fifty Years of the Nation’s Bestselling Books.  London: BBC, 2002.

Tanselle, G. Thomas.  Bibliographical Analysis: A Historical IntroductionCambridge, 2009.

Teaching Bibliography, Textual Criticism, and Book History, ed. by Ann R. Hawkins.  London: Pickering & Chatto, 2006.

The Technological Study of Books and Manuscripts as Artefacts: Research Questions and Analytical Solutions, ed. by Sarah Neate et al.  Oxford: Archaeopress, 2011.

Thompson, John B.  Books in the Digital Age: The Transformation of Academic and Higher Education Publishing in Britain and the United States Polity, 2005.

When Books Die: 15 Essays, ed. by Finlay Lloyd with Patricia Anderson.  Braidwood NSW: Finlay Lloyd, 2006.

Williams, William Proctor, and Craig S. Abbot.  An Introduction to Bibliographical and Textual Studies.  4th ed.  Modern Language Association of America, 2009 (CH, Nov’09, 47-1190).

Wynne-Tyson, Jon.  Finding the Words: A Publishing Life.  Michael Russell, 2004.

Young, Sherman.  The Book Is Dead, Long Live the Book.  Sydney: University of New South Wales, 2007.

Zaid, Gabriel.  So Many Books: Reading and Publishing in an Age of Abundance, tr. by Natasha Wimmer.  Paul Dry Books, 2003.