Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Folklore and Folklife Studies: The Discipline of Analyzing Traditions (May 2013): Works Cited

By Simon J. Bronner

Works Cited: Books and Journals

American Folklore: An Encyclopedia, ed. by Jan Harold Brunvand.  Garland, 1996 (CH, Oct’96, 34-0642).

Archetypes and Motifs in Folklore and Literature: A Handbook, ed. by Jane Garry and Hasan El-Shamy.  M.E. Sharpe, 2005 (CH, Oct’05, 43-0655).

Attebery, Jennifer Eastman.  Building with Logs: Western Log Construction in Context.  Idaho, 1998 (CH, Feb’99, 36-3131).

Backyard Visionaries: Grassroots Art in the Midwest, ed. by Barbara Brackman and Cathy Dwigans.  University Press of Kansas, 1999.

Bauman, Richard.  Story, Performance, and Event: Contextual Studies of Oral Narrative.  Cambridge, 1986.

Bendix, Regina.  In Search of Authenticity: The Formation of Folklore Studies.  Wisconsin, 1997 (CH, Jun’98, 35-5730).

Bennett, Gillian.  Alas Poor Ghost! Traditions of Belief in Story and Discourse.  Utah State, 1999.

____.  Bodies: Sex, Violence, Disease, and Death in Contemporary Legends.  University Press of Mississippi, 2009 (Reprint: 1st ed., CH, Jun’06, 43-5673).

Beresford, Matthew.  From Demons to Dracula: The Creation of the Modern Vampire Myth.  Reaktion Books, 2008.

Beresin, Anna R.  Recess Battles: Playing, Fighting, and Storytelling.  University Press of Mississippi, 2010 (CH, Apr’11, 48-4606).

Blank, Trevor J.  The Last Laugh: Folk Humor, Celebrity Culture, and Mass-Mediated Disasters in the Digital Age.  Utah State, 2013.

Blécourt, Willem de.  Tales of Magic, Tales in Print: On the Genealogy of Fairy Tales and the Brothers Grimm.  Manchester University Press, 2012.

Bottigheimer, Ruth B.  Fairy Godfather: Straparola, Venice, and the Fairy Tale Tradition.  Pennsylvania, 2002.

____.  Fairy Tales: A New History.  SUNY Press/Excelsior Editions, 2009 (CH, Nov’09, 47-1266).

Brasseaux, Ryan André.  Cajun Breakdown: The Emergence of an American-Made Music.  Oxford, 2009 (CH, Nov’09, 47-1332).

Briggs, Charles L.  Competence in Performance: The Creativity of Tradition in Mexicano Verbal Art.  Pennsylvania, 1988.

Bronner, Simon J.  Campus Traditions: Folklore from the Old-Time College to the Modern Mega-University.  University Press of Mississippi, 2012.

____.  The Carver’s Art: Crafting Meaning from Wood.  University Press of Kentucky, 1996.

____.  Explaining Traditions: Folk Behavior in Modern Culture.  University Press of Kentucky, 2011 (CH, Feb’12, 49-3320).

____.  Following Tradition: Folklore in the Discourse of American Culture.  Utah State, 1998.

____.  Grasping Things: Folk Material Culture and Mass Society in America.  University Press of Kentucky, 2004 (reprint, orig. pub. 1986).

Brunvand, Jan Harold.  The Study of American Folklore: An Introduction.  4th ed.  W. W. Norton, 1998.

Brunvand, Jan Harold, with Erik Brunvand.  The Truth Never Stands in the Way of a Good Story.  Illinois, 2000.

Burke, Carol.  Camp All-American, Hanoi Jane, and the High-and-Tight: Gender, Folklore, and Changing Military Culture.  Beacon Press, 2004 (CH, Mar’05, 42-4325).

Campion-Vincent, Véronique.  Organ Theft Legends.  University Press of Mississippi, 2006 (CH, Feb’07, 44-3349).

Celebrating Latino Folklore: An Encyclopedia of Cultural Traditions, ed. by María Herrera-Sobek.  3v.  ABC-CLIO, 2012 (CH, Dec’12, 50-1830).

Chittenden, Varick A.  Vietnam Remembered: The Folk Art of Marine Combat Veteran Michael D.Cousino, Sr., photographs by Martha CooperUniversity Press of Mississippi, 1995.

A Companion to Folklore, ed. by Regina Bendix and Galit Hasan-Rokem.  Wiley-Blackwell, 2012 (CH, Nov’12, 50-1530).

Conway, Cecilia.  African Banjo Echoes in Appalachia: A Study of Folk Traditions.  Tennessee, 1995 (CH, May’96, 33-5016).

Cosentino, Donald J.  Vodou Things: The Art of Pierrot Barra and Marie Cassaise.  University Press of Mississippi, 1998.

Cowboy Poets & Cowboy Poetry, ed. by David Stanley and Elaine Thatcher.  Illinois, 1999.

De Caro, Frank.  Folklore Recycled: Old Traditions in New Contexts.  University Press of Mississippi, forthcoming July 2013.

De Caro, Frank, and Rosan Augusta Jordan.  Re-Situating Folklore: Folk Contexts and Twentieth-Century Literature and Art.  Tennessee, 2004.

Dégh, Linda.  Legend and Belief: Dialectics of a Folklore Genre.  Indiana, 2001 (CH, Jun’02, 39-5635).

____.  Narratives in Society: A Performer-Centered Study of Narration.  Helsinki: Academia Scientiarum Fennica, 1995 (dist. by Indiana).

Delumeau, Jean.  History of Paradise: The Garden of Eden in Myth and Tradition, tr. by Matthew O’Connell.  1st Illinois pbk. ed.  Illinois, 2000.

De Vos, Gail.  What Happens Next?: Contemporary Urban Legends and Popular Culture.  Libraries Unlimited, 2012.

The Dictionary of Modern Proverbs, comp. by Charles C. Doyle, Wolfgang Mieder, and Fred R. Shapiro.  Yale, 2012 (CH, Oct’12, 50-0613).

Doty, William G.  Mythography: The Study of Myths and Rituals.  2nd ed.  Alabama, 2000.

Dundes, Alan.  Cracking Jokes: Studies of Sick Humor Cycles & Stereotypes.  Ten Speed Press, 1987 (CH, Nov’87).

____.  The Kushmaker” and Other Essays on Folk Speech and Folk Humor, ed. by Wolfgang Mieder.  Vermont, 2008.

____.  The Meaning of Folklore: The Analytic Essays of Alan Dundes, ed. and introd. by Simon J. Bronner.  Utah State, 2007 (CH, Jul’08, 45-5990).

Dundes, Alan, and Carl R. Pagter.  Work Hard and You Shall Be Rewarded: Urban Folklore from the Paperwork Empire.  Wayne State, 1992.

Eight Words for the Study of Expressive Culture, ed. by Burt Feintuch.  Illinois, 2003 (CH, Mar’04, 41-3826).

El-Shamy, Hasan M.  Folk Traditions of the Arab World: A Guide to Motif Classification.  2v. Indiana, 1995 (CH, Dec’95, 33-1877).

____.  Types of the Folktale in the Arab World: A Demographically Oriented Tale-Type Index.  Indiana, 2004 (CH, Apr’05, 42-4361).

Ellis, Bill.  Raising the Devil: Satanism, New Religions, and the Media.  University Press of Kentucky, 2000 (CH, Mar’01, 38-3852).

Encyclopedia of American Folklife, ed. by Simon J. Bronner.  4v.  M.E. Sharpe, 2006 (CH, Apr’07, 44-4213).

Encyclopedia of Asian American Folklore and Folklife, ed. by Jonathan H. X. Lee and Kathleen M. Nadeau.  3v.  ABC-CLIO, 2011 (CH, Sep’11, 49-0029).

Encyclopedia of Folklore and Literature, ed. by Mary Ellen Brown and Bruce A. Rosenberg.  ABC-CLIO, 1998 (CH, Feb’99, 36-3081).

Encyclopedia of Jewish Folklore and Traditions, ed. by Haya Bar-Itzhak.  M. E. Sharpe, 2012.

Encyclopedia of Vernacular Architecture of the World, ed. by Paul Oliver.  3v.  Cambridge, 1998.

Everett, Holly.  Roadside Crosses in Contemporary Memorial Culture.  North Texas, 2002.

The Family Saga: A Collection of Texas Family Legends, ed. by Francis Edward Abernethy, Jerry Bryan Lincecum, and Frances B. Vick.  North Texas, 2003.

Feminist Messages: Coding in Women’s Folk Culture, ed. by Joann Newlon Radner.  Illinois, 1993.

Ferris, Marcie Cohen.  Matzoh Ball Gumbo: Culinary Tales of the Jewish South.  North Carolina, 2010.

Ferris, William.  Mule Trader: Ray Lum’s Tales of Horses, Mules, and Men.  University Press of Mississippi, 1998.

Fine, Gary Alan.  Manufacturing Tales: Sex and Money in Contemporary Legends.  Tennessee, 1992.

Fine, Gary Alan, and Bill Ellis.  The Global Grapevine: Why Rumors of Terrorism, Immigration, and Trade Matter.  Oxford, 2010.

Fine, Gary Alan, and Patricia A. Turner.  Whispers on the Color Line: Rumor and Race in America.  California, 2001 (CH, May’02, 39-5498).

Foley, John Miles.  How to Read an Oral Poem.  Illinois, 2002 (CH, Apr’03, 40-4443).

____.  Oral Tradition and the Internet: Pathways of the Mind.  Illinois, 2012.

____.  The Singer of Tales in Performance.  Indiana, 1995 (CH, Dec’95, 33-1958).

____.  Traditional Oral Epic: The Odyssey, Beowulf, and the Serbo-Croatian Return Song.  California, 1993 (CH, Jan’92, 29-2533).

Folk Culture in the Digital Age: The Emergent Dynamics of Human Interaction, ed. by Trevor J. Blank.  Utah State, 2012.

Folk Groups and Folklore Genres: An Introduction, ed. by Elliott Oring.  Utah State, 1986.

Folklore: An Encyclopedia of Beliefs, Customs, Tales, Music, and Art, ed. by Charlie T. McCormick and Kim Kennedy White.  2nd ed.  3v.  ABC-CLIO, 2011.

Folklore and the Internet: Vernacular Expression in a Digital World, ed. by Trevor J. Blank.  Utah State, 2009.

Folklore, Cultural Performances, and Popular Entertainments: A Communications-Centered Handbook, ed. by Richard Bauman.  Oxford, 1992.

Frank, Russell.  Newslore: Contemporary Folklore on the Internet.  University Press of Mississippi, 2011 (CH, Dec’11, 49-1888).

Galanter, Marc.  Lowering the Bar: Lawyer Jokes and Legal Culture.  Wisconsin, 2005 (CH, Feb’06, 43-3714).

Gaunt, Kyra D.  The Games Black Girls Play: Learning the Ropes from Double-Dutch to Hip-Hop.  New York University, 2006 (CH, Sep’06, 44-0224).

Georges, Robert A., and Michael Owen Jones.  Folkloristics: An Introduction.  Indiana, 1995.

Glassie, Henry.  Material Culture.  Indiana, 1999 (CH, Jun’00, 37-5750).

Goldstein, Diane E.  Once Upon a Virus: AIDS Legends and Vernacular Risk Perception.  Utah State, 2004.

Goldstein, Diane E., Sylvia Grider, and Jeannie Banks Thomas.  Haunting Experiences:Ghosts in Contemporary Folklore.  Utah State, 2007 (CH, Jul’08, 45-6244).

Goodman, Linda J.  Singing the Songs of My Ancestors: The Life and Music of Helma Swan, Makah Elder.  Oklahoma, 2003.

Goodwin, Joseph P.  More Man than You’ll Ever Be: Gay Folklore and Acculturation in Middle America.  Indiana, 1989 (CH, Nov’89, 27-1579).

Govenar, Alan B.  Extraordinary Ordinary People: Five American Masters of Traditional Arts.  Candlewick Press, 2006.

____.  Lightnin’ Hopkins: His Life and Blues.  Chicago Review, 2010.

____.  Masters of Traditional Arts: A Biographical Dictionary.  2 v.  ABC-CLIO, 2001 (CH, Mar’02, 39-3702).

Grassroots Memorials: The Politics of Memorializing Traumatic Death, ed. Peter Jan Margry and Cristina Sánchez-Carretero.  Berghahn Books, 2011.

Green, Archie.  Tin Men.  Illinois, 2002.

The Greenwood Encyclopedia of African American Folklore, ed. by Anand Prahlad.  3v. Greenwood, 2006 (CH, Jun’06, 43-5652).

The Greenwood Encyclopedia of World Folklore and Folklife, ed. by William M. Clements.  4v.  Greenwood, 2006 (CH, Jun’06, 43-5653).

Griffith, James S.  A Shared Space: Folklife in the Arizona-Sonora Borderlands.  Utah State, 1995.

Gutierrez, C. Paige.  Cajun Foodways.  University Press of Mississippi, 1992 (CH, Mar’93, 30-3891).

Gundaker, Grey, and Judith McWillie.  No Space Hidden: The Spirit of African American Yard Work.  Tennessee, 2005.

Halloween and Other Festivals of Death and Life, ed. by Jack Santino.  Tennessee, 1994.

Herrera-Sobek, María.  Northward Bound: The Mexican Immigrant Experience in Ballad and Song.  Indiana, 1993 (CH, Feb’04, 31-3174).

Images of an American Land: Vernacular Architecture in the Western United States, ed. by Thomas Carter.  New Mexico, 1997.

The Individual and Tradition: Folkloristic Perspectives, ed. by Ray Cashman, Tom Mould, and Pravina Shukla.  Indiana, 2011.

Isbell, Robert.  Ray Hicks: Master Storyteller of the Blue Ridge.  North Carolina, 2001.

Jabbour, Alan, and Karen Singer Jabbour.  Decoration Day in the Mountains: Traditions of Cemetery Decoration in the Southern Appalachians.  North Carolina, 2010.

Jones, Michael Owen.  Craftsman of the Cumberlands: Tradition and Creativity.  University Press of Kentucky, 2003.

Kim, Sojin.  Chicano Graffiti and Murals: The Neighborhood Art of Peter Quezada.  University Press of Mississippi, 2010.

Kinsella, Michael.  Legend-Tripping Online: Supernatural Folklore and the Search for Ong’s Hat.  University Press of Mississippi, 2011.

Kriebel, David W.  Powwowing among the Pennsylvania Dutch: A Traditional Medical Practice in the Modern World.  Pennsylvania State, 2007 (CH, Sep’08, 46-0383).

Leary, James P.  Polkabilly: How the Goose Island Ramblers Redefined American Folk Music.  Oxford, 2006 (CH, Feb’07, 44-3211).

Lockwood, Yvonne R.  Finnish American Rag Rugs: Art, Tradition, and Ethnic Continuity.  Michigan State, 2010.

Lord, Albert B.  The Singer of Tales, ed. by Stephen Mitchell and Gregory Nagy.  2nd ed.  Harvard, 2000.

Manly Traditions: The Folk Roots of American Masculinities, ed. by Simon J. Bronner.  Indiana, 2005 (CH, Sep’06, 44-0641).

McGregory, Jerrilyn, with Jerry DeVine, Delma E. Presley, and Henry Willett.  Wiregrass Country.  University Press of Mississippi, 1997.

Mechling, Jay.  On My Honor: Boy Scouts and the Making of American Youth.  Chicago, 2001 (CH, Jun’01, 39-6122).

Mieder, Wolfgang.  Proverbs Are Never Out of Season: Popular Wisdom in the Modern Age.  Oxford, 1993.

Mieder, Wolfgang, and Anna Tóthné Litovkina.  Twisted Wisdom: Modern Anti-Proverbs.  DeProverbio, 2002.

Mould, Tom.  Still, the Small Voice: Narrative, Personal Revelation, and the Mormon Folk Tradition.  Utah State, 2011 (CH, Jun’12, 49-5489).

Mullen, Patrick B.  Listening to Old Voices: Folklore, Life Stories, and the Elderly.  Illinois, 1992 (CH, Oct’92, 30-0991).

Myth: A New Symposium, ed. by Gregory Schrempp and William Hansen.  Indiana, 2002 (CH, May’03, 40-4995).

Myth: A Symposium, ed. by Thomas A. Sebeok.  Indiana, 1965.

Neustadt, Kathy.  Clambake: A History and Celebration of an American Tradition.  Massachusetts, 1992.

Notes and Queries.  Oxford University Press, 1849- .

O’Connor, Bonnie Blair.  Healing Traditions: Alternative Medicine and the Health Professions.  Pennsylvania, 1994.

Of Corpse: Death and Humor in Folklore and Popular Culture, ed. by Peter Narváez.  Utah State, 2003.

Oliver, Paul.  Built to Meet Needs: Cultural Issues in Vernacular Architecture.  Architectural Press, 2006.

____.  Dwellings: The Vernacular House World Wide.  Phaidon, 2007.

Olson, Ted.  Blue Ridge Folklife.  University Press of Mississippi, 1998.

Oring, Elliott.  Engaging Humor.  Illinois, 2008 (CH, Nov’03, 41-1330).

____.  Jokes and Their Relations.  Transaction, 2010.

____.  Just Folklore: Analysis, Interpretation, Critique.  Cantilever, 2012.

Play Today in the Primary School Playground: Life, Learning, and Creativity, ed. by Julia C. Bishop and Mavis Curtis.  Open University, 2001.

Post, Jennifer C.  Music in Rural New England: Family and Community Life, 1870-1940.  New Hampshire, 2004 (CH, Jul’05, 42-6398).

Puhvel, Martin.  The Crossroads in Folklore and Myth.  Peter Lang, 1989.

Ratcliffe, Philip R.  Mississippi John Hurt: His Life, His Times, His Blues.  University Press of Mississippi, 2011 (CH, May’12, 49-4963).

Rosengarten, Dale.  Row upon Row: Sea Grass Baskets of the South Carolina Lowcountry.  South Carolina, 1986.

Roud, Steve.  The Lore of the Playground: One Hundred Years of Children’s Games, Rhymes and Traditions.  Random House, 2010.

Santino, Jack.  All Around the Year: Holidays and Celebrations in American Life.  Illini Books ed.  Illinois, 1995.

Schrager, Sam.  The Trial Lawyer’s Art.  Temple University, 1999 (CH, Nov’99, 37-1831).

Sims, Martha, and Martine Stephens.  Living Folklore: An Introduction to the Study of People and Their Traditions.  2nd ed.  Utah State, 2011.

Siporin, Steve.  American Folk Masters: The National Heritage Fellows.  Abrams, 1992 (CH, Feb’93, 30-3084).

Spontaneous Shrines and the Public Memorialization of Death, ed. by Jack Santino.  Palgrave Macmillan, 2006.

Stahl, Sandra Dolby.  Literary Folkloristics and the Personal Narrative.  Pbk ed.  Trickster Press, 2008 (1989 ed., CH, Mar’90, 27-3710).

Suter, Scott Hamilton.  Shenandoah Valley Folklife.  University Press of Mississippi, 1999 (CH, Mar’00, 37-4098).

Tangherlini, Timothy R.  Talking Trauma: Paramedics and Their Stories.  University Press of Mississippi, 1998.

Theorizing Folklore: Toward New Perspectives on the Politics of Culture, ed. by Charles Briggs and Amy Shuman.  California Folklore Society, 1993.

Thompson, Stith.  Motif-Index of Folk-Literature: A Classification of Narrative Elements in Folk Tales, Ballads, Myths, Fables, Mediaeval Romances, Exempla, Fabliaux, Jestbooks, and Local Legends.  6v.  Revised and enlarged ed.  Indiana, 1960.

Toelken, Barre.  The Dynamics of Folklore.  Revised and expanded ed.  Utah State, 1996.

Toward New Perspectives in Folklore, ed. by Américo Paredes and Richard Bauman.  Pbk. ed.  Trickster Press, 2000.

Tradition in the Twenty-First Century: Locating the Role of the Past in the Present, ed. by Trevor J. Blank and Robert Glenn Howard.  Utah State, 2013.

Tucker, Elizabeth.  Campus Legends: A Handbook.  Greenwood, 2005.

____.  Haunted Halls: Ghostlore of American College Campuses.  University Press of Mississippi, 2007.

Turner, Patricia A.  I Heard It through the Grapevine: Rumor in African-American Culture.  California, 1994 (CH, Feb’94, 31-3305).

Umberger, Leslie.  Sublime Spaces & Visionary Worlds: Built Environments of Vernacular Artists.  Princeton Architectural, 2007.

Uther, Hans-Jörg.  The Types of International Folktales: A Classification and Bibliography, Based on the System of Antti Aarne and Stite Thompson.  3v.  Academia Scientiarum Fennica, 2004.

The Vampire: A Casebook, ed. by Alan Dundes.  Wisconsin, 1998.

Vellinga, Marcel, Paul Oliver, and Alexander Bridge.  Atlas of Vernacular Architecture of the World.  Routledge, 2008.

Warner, Marina.  No Go the Bogeyman: Scaring, Lulling and Making Mock.  Farrar, Straus and Giroux, 1999 (CH, Sep’99, 37-0076).

Warrior Ways: Explorations in Modern Military Folklore, ed. by Eric A. Eliason and Tad Tuleja.  Utah State, 2012.

Weems, Mickey.  The Fierce Tribe: Masculine Identity and Performance in the Circuit.  Utah State, 2008.

Williams, Michael Ann.  Homeplace: The Social Use and Meaning of the Folk Dwelling in Southwestern North Carolina.  Virginia, 2004 (Georgia ed., 1991, CH, May’92, 29-5335).

Yoder, Don.  Groundhog Day.  Stackpole, 2003.

Zipes, Jack.  The Irresistible Fairy Tale: The Cultural and Social History of a Genre.  Princeton, 2012 (CH, Feb’12, 50-0127).

____.  Why Fairy Tales Stick: The Evolution and Relevance of a Genre.  Routledge, 2006.