Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

New Religious Movements: The Current Landscape (September 2013): Works Cited

By Stephen Bales

Works Cited

The African Diaspora and the Study of Religion, ed. by Theodore Louis Trost.  Palgrave Macmillan, 2007.

Albanese, Catherine L.  A Republic of Mind and Spirit: A Cultural History of American Metaphysical Religion.  Yale, 2007 (CH, Jun’07, 44-5580).

Alien Worlds: Social and Religious Dimensions of Extraterrestrial Contact, ed. by Diana G. Tumminia.  Syracuse, 2007 (CH, Mar’08, 45-3721).

Alternative Christs, ed. by Olav Hammer.  Cambridge, 2009.

Atwood, Craig D., Frank S. Mead, and Samuel S. Hill.  Handbook of Denominations in the United States.  13th ed.  Abingdon Press, 2010.

Buddhism in Canada, ed. by Bruce Matthews.  Routledge, 2005.

Byford, Jovan.  Conspiracy Theories: A Critical Introduction.  Palgrave Macmillan, 2011.

The Cambridge Companion to New Religious Movements, ed. by Olav Hammer and Mikael Rothstein.  Cambridge, 2012 (CH, Jun’13, 50-5539).

Chryssides, George D.  Historical Dictionary of New Religious Movements.  2nd ed.  Scarecrow, 2012 (CH, Jun’12, 49-5400).

Clarke, Peter B.  New Religions in Global Perspective: A Study of Religious Change in the Modern World.  Routledge, 2006.

Conspiracy Theories, ed. by Paul McCaffrey.  H. W. Wilson, 2012.

Contemporary Religious Satanism: A Critical Anthology, ed. by Jesper Aagaard Petersen.  Ashgate, 2009.

Controversial New Religions, ed. by James R. Lewis and Jesper Aagaard Petersen.  Oxford, 2005 (CH, Sep’05, 43-0250).

Cowan, Douglas E.  Bearing False Witness? An Introduction to the Christian Countercult.  Praeger, 2003.

Cowan, Douglas E., and David G. Bromley.  Cults and New Religions: A Brief History.  Blackwell, 2008.

Davy, Barbara Jane.  Introduction to Pagan Studies.  AltaMira, 2007.

Dawson, Lorne LComprehending Cults: The Sociology of New Religious Movements.  2nd ed.  Oxford, 2006 (1st ed., CH, Sep’99, 37-0253).

Dictionary of Gnosis & Western Esotericism, ed. by Wouter J. Hanegraaff with Antoine Faivre, Roelof van den Broek, and Jean-Pierre Brach.  Brill, 2006 (CH, Dec’06, 44-1846).

Ebaugh, Helen Rose.  The Gülen Movement: A Sociological Analysis of a Civic Movement Rooted in Moderate Islam.  Springer, 2010.

Ellwood, Robert.  Introducing Japanese Religion.  Routledge, 2008.

Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World, ed. by Richard C. Martin.  2v.  Macmillan Reference, 2004 (CH, Jun’04, 41-5627).

Encyclopedia of Islam in the United States, ed. by Jocelyne Cesari.  2v.  Greenwood, 2007 (CH, Apr’08, 45-4118).

Encyclopedia of New Religious Movements, ed. by Peter B. Clarke.  Routledge, 2006 (CH, May’06, 43-5000).

Encyclopedia of Protestantism, ed. by J. Gordon Melton.  Facts On File, 2005 (CH, Nov’05, 43-1287).

Encyclopedia of Religion, ed. by Lindsay Jones.  15v.  2nd ed.  Macmillan Reference, 2005 (CH, Mar’06, 43-3745); rev. ed. of The Encyclopedia of Religion, ed. by Mircea Eliade et al. (CH, Jun’88).

Encyclopedia of Religion in America, ed. by Charles H. Lippy and Peter W. Williams.  4v.  CQ Press, 2010 (CH, Jan’11, 48-2420).

Erskine, Noel Leo.  From Garvey to Marley: Rastafari Theology.  University Press of Florida, 2005 (CH, Oct’05, 43-0882).

E. T. Culture: Anthropology in Outerspaces, ed. by Debbora Battaglia.  Duke, 2005.

Fragments of Bone: Neo-African Religions in a New World, ed. by Patrick Bellegarde-Smith.  Illinois, 2005.

The Fundamentalist Mindset: Psychological Perspectives on Religion, Violence, and History, ed. by Charles B. Strozier, David M. Terman, and James W. Jones.  Oxford, 2010 (CH, Nov’10, 48-1404).

Gilpin, Geoff.  The Maharishi Effect: A Personal Journey through the Movement That Transformed American Spirituality.  J. P. Tarcher/Penguin, 2006.

Global Salafism: Islam’s New Religious Movement, ed. by Roel Meijer.  Columbia, 2009.

Gurus in America, ed. by Thomas A. Forsthoefel and Cynthia Ann Humes.  SUNY Press, 2005 (CH, Apr’06, 43-4606).

Haitian Vodou: Spirit, Myth, and Reality, ed. by Patrick Bellegarde-Smith and Claudine Michel.  Indiana, 2006.

Hallman, J. C.  The Devil Is a Gentleman: Exploring America’s Religious Fringe.  Random House, 2006.

Handbook of Contemporary Paganism, ed. by Murphy Pizza and James R. Lewis.  Brill, 2009.

Handbook of Hyper-Real Religions, ed. by Adam Possamai.  Brill, 2012.

Handbook of New Age, ed. by Daren Kemp and James R. Lewis.  Brill, 2007.

Harvey, Graham.  Contemporary Paganism: Religions of the Earth from Druids and Witches to Heathens and Ecofeminists2nd ed.  New York University, 2011 (1st ed., Contemporary Paganism: Listening People, Speaking Earth, CH, Nov’97, 35-1477).

Healy, John Paul.  Yearning to Belong: Discovering a New Religious Movement.  Ashgate, 2010.

Hutton, Ronald.  The Triumph of the Moon: A History of Modern Pagan Witchcraft.  Oxford, 1999 (CH, Nov’00, 38-1508).

Introduction to New and Alternative Religions in America, ed. by Eugene V. Gallagher and William M. Ashcraft.  5v.  Greenwood, 2006 (CH, Aug’07, 44-6563).

James, William.  The Varieties of Religious Experience: A Study in Human Nature: Being the Gifford Lectures on Natural Religion Delivered at Edinburgh in 1901-1902.  Longmans, Green, 1902.

Johnson, Paul Christopher.  Diaspora Conversions: Black Carib Religion and the Recovery of Africa.  California, 2007 (CH, Feb’08, 45-3274).

Jones, James W.  Blood That Cries Out from the Earth: The Psychology of Religious Terrorism.  Oxford, 2008 (CH, Nov’08, 46-1423).

Kripal, Jeffrey J.  Authors of the Impossible: The Paranormal and the Sacred.  Chicago, 2010 (CH, Dec’10, 48-2016).

Kuhlke, Olaf.  Geographies of Freemasonry: Ritual, Lodge, and City in Spatial Context.  Edwin Mellen, 2008.

Kurtz, Lester R.  Gods in the Global Village: The World’s Religions in Sociological Perspective.  3rd ed.  SAGE, 2012.

Larson, Bob.  Larson’s New Book of CultsRev ed.  Tyndale House, 1989.

Lewis, James R.  Legitimating New Religions.  Rutgers, 2003.

Lewis, Maureen Warner.  Central Africa in the Caribbean: Transcending Time, Transforming Cultures.  University of West Indies Press, 2003.

Love, Robert.  The Great Oom: The Improbable Birth of Yoga in America.  Viking, 2010.

Mathews, Chris.  Modern Satanism: Anatomy of a Radical Subculture.  Praeger, 2009 (CH, Aug’09, 46-6743).

Melton, J. Gordon.  The Encyclopedia of Religious Phenomena.  Visible Ink, 2008.

____.  Melton’s Encyclopedia of American Religions, ed. by James Beverley with Constance Jones and Pamela S. Nadell.  8th ed.  Gale, part of Cengage Learning, 2009 (CH, Oct’09, 47-0608).

____.  Nelson’s Guide to Denominations.  Thomas Nelson, 2007.

Momen, Moojan.  Baha’u’llah: A Short Biography.  Oneworld, 2007.

Monroe, John Warne.  Laboratories of Faith: Mesmerism, Spiritism, and Occultism in Modern France.  Cornell, 2008 (CH, Feb’09, 46-3481).

Murrell, Nathaniel Samuel.  Afro-Caribbean Religions: An Introduction to Their Historical, Cultural, and Sacred Traditions.  Temple University, 2010 (CH, Oct’10, 48-0812).

New Religions: A Guide: New Religious Movements, Sects, and Alternative Spiritualities, ed. by Christopher Partridge.  Oxford, 2004 (CH, Nov’04, 42-1285).

New Religious Movements and Religious Liberty in America, ed. by Derek H. Davis and Barry Hankins.  2nd ed.  Baylor, 2003.

New Religious Movements in the Twenty-First Century: Legal, Political, and Social Challenges in Global Perspective, ed. by Phillip Charles Lucas and Thomas Robbins.  Routledge, 2004.

Ownby, David.  Falun Gong and the Future of China.  Oxford, 2008 (CH, Apr’09, 46-4604).

The Oxford Handbook of New Religious Movements, ed. by James R. Lewis.  Oxford, 2004 (CH, Nov’04, 42-1505).

Palmer, Susan J.  The New Heretics of France: Minority Religions, la République, and the Government-Sponsored “War on Sects.”  Oxford, 2011 (CH, May’12, 49-5308).

Possamai, Adam.  In Search of New Age Spiritualities.  Ashgate, 2005.

Psychology of Religion, ed. by Justin L. Barrett.  Routledge, 2010.

A Reader in New Religious Movements, ed. by George D. Chryssides and Margaret Z. Wilkins.  Continuum International Publishers Group, 2006 (CH, Apr’07, 44-4415).

Regulating Religion: Case Studies from around the Globe, ed. by James T. Richardson.  Kluwer Academic/Plenum Publishers, 2004 (CH, Dec’04, 42-2168).

Reid-Bowen, Paul.  Goddess as Nature: Towards a Philosophical Theology.  Ashgate, 2007.

Religions of the World: A Comprehensive Encyclopedia of Beliefs and Practices, ed. by J. Gordon Melton and Martin Baumann.  2nd ed.  6v.  ABC-CLIO, 2010 (CH, Mar’11, 48-3601; 1st ed., CH, Feb’03, 40-3142).

Religious Celebrations: An Encyclopedia of Holidays, Festivals, Solemn Observances, and Spiritual Commemorations, ed. by J. Gordon Melton with James A. Beverley, Christopher Buck, and Constance A. Jones.  2v.  ABC-CLIO, 2011.

Religious Reconstruction in the South Asian Diasporas: From One Generation to Another, ed. by John R. Hinnells.  Palgrave Macmillan, 2007.

Rochford, E. Burke, Jr.  Hare Krishna in America.  Rutgers, 1985 (CH, Jul’86).

____.  Hare Krishna Transformed.  New York University, 2007 (CH, Nov’07, 45-1423).

Schmidt, Bettina E.  Caribbean Diaspora in the USA: Diversity of Caribbean Religions in New York City.  Ashgate, 2008.

Shepherd, Gordon, and Gary Shepherd.  Talking with the Children of God: Prophecy and Transformation in a Radical Religious Group.  Illinois, 2010 (CH, Mar’11, 48-4195).

Siegler, Elijah.  New Religious Movements.  Prentice Hall, 2007.

Smith, Peter.  An Introduction to the Baha’i Faith.  Cambridge, 2008.

Stuckrad, Kocku von.  Western Esotericism: A Brief History of Secret Knowledge.  Equinox, 2005.

Sutcliffe, Steven J.  Children of the New Age: A History of Spiritual Practices.  Routledge, 2003.

Taylor, Bron.  Dark Green Religion: Nature Spirituality and the Planetary Future.  California, 2010 (CH, Jun’10, 47-5592).

Ten Years of Triumph of the Moon: Academic Approaches to Studying Magic and the Occult: Examining Scholarship into Witchcraft and Paganism, Ten Years after Ronald Hutton’s The Triumph of the Moon, ed. by Dave Evans and Dave Green.  Hidden Publishing, 2009.

Williamson, Lola.  Transcendent in America: Hindu-Inspired Meditation Movements as New Religion.  New York University, 2010 (CH, Jul’10, 47-6199).

Yamada, Shoji.  Shots in the Dark: Japan, Zen, and the West, tr. by Earl Hartman.  Chicago, 2009 (CH, Oct’09, 47-0657).

York, Michael.  Pagan Theology: Paganism as a World Religion.  New York University, 2003 (CH, Oct’03, 41-0889).