Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Resources in LGBTQ History in the United States: 1900 to 2019 (November 2019): Works Cited

by Lisa N. Johnston

Works Cited

Art after Stonewall: 1969–1989, ed. by Jonathan Weinberg et al. Rizzoli Electra, 2019.

The Ashgate Research Companion to Lesbian and Gay Activism, ed. by David Paternotte and Manon Tremblay. Ashgate, 2016 (CH, Mar’16, 53-3298).

Batza, Katie. Before AIDS: Gay Health Politics in the 1970s. Pennsylvania, 2018 (CH, Oct’18, 56-0660).

Berube, Alan. Coming Out under Fire: The History of Gay Men and Women in World War II. 20th anniversary ed. North Carolina, 2010. (CH, Sep’90, 28-0505).

Bronski, Michael. A Queer History of the United States. Beacon Press, 2011 (CH, Nov’11, 49-1649).

Bruce, Katherine McFarland. Pride Parades: How a Parade Changed the World. New York University, 2016 (CH, Feb’17, 54-3002).

Butler, Isaac, and Dan Kois. The World Only Spins Forward: The Ascent of Angels in America. Bloomsbury, 2018.

Capó, Julio Jr. Welcome to Fairyland: Queer Miami before 1940. North Carolina, 2017.

Carpenter, Dale. Flagrant Conduct: The Story of Lawrence v. Texas: How a Bedroom Arrest Decriminalized Gay Americans. W. W. Norton, 2012.

Charles, Douglas M. Hoover’s War on Gays: Exposing the FBI’s “Sex Deviates” Program. University Press of Kansas, 2015 (CH, Jun’16, 53-4522).

Chauncey, George. Gay New York: Gender, Urban Culture, and the Making of the Gay Male World, 1890–1940. Basic Books, 2003.

Córdova, Jeanne. When We Were Outlaws: A Memoir of Love & Revolution. Spinsters Ink, 2011.

Daughters of Bilitis. The Ladder. Arno Press, 1975 (serial).

D’Emilio, John. Sexual Politics, Sexual Communities: The Making of a Homosexual Minority in the United States, 1940–1970. Chicago, 1998.

____. In a New Century: Essays on Queer History, Politics, and Community Life. Wisconsin, 2014.

De la Croix, St. Sukie. Chicago Whispers: A History of LGBT Chicago before Stonewall. Wisconsin, 2012.

Downs, Jim. Stand by Me: The Forgotten History of Gay Liberation. Basic Books, 2016 (CH, Oct’16, 54-0841).

Duberman, Martin B. Has the Gay Movement Failed? California, 2018 (CH, Nov’18, 56-1132).

____. Hold Tight Gently: Michael Callen, Essex Hemphill, and the Battlefield of AIDS. The New Press, 2016.

____. Stonewall: The Definitive Story of the LGBTQ Rights Uprising That Changed America. Plume, 2019.

Elledge, Jim. The Boys of Fairy Town: Sodomites, Female Impersonators, Third-Sexers, Pansies, Queers, and Sex Morons in Chicago’s First Century. Chicago Review, 2018.

Eskridge, William. N., Jr. Dishonorable Passions: Sodomy Laws in America, 1861–2003. Viking, 2008.

Faderman, Lillian. The Gay Revolution: The Story of the Struggle. Simon & Schuster, 2015 (CH, Feb‘16, 53-2763).

____. Harvey Milk: His Lives and Death. Yale, 2018.

____. Odd Girls and Twilight Lovers: A History of Lesbian Life in Twentieth-Century America. Columbia, 1991.

Fieseler, Robert W. Tinderbox: The Untold Story of the Up Stairs Lounge Fire and the Rise of Gay Liberation. Liveright, 2018.

Finkelstein, Avram. After Silence: A History of AIDS through Its Images. California, 2018.

France, David. How to Survive a Plague: The Inside Story of How Citizens and Science Tamed AIDS. Knopf, 2016.

Frank, Nathaniel. Awakening: How Gays and Lesbians Brought Marriage Equality to America. Belknap, Harvard, 2017.

Gallo, Marcia. M. Different Daughters: A History of the Daughters of Bilitis and the Rise of the Lesbian Rights Movement. Carroll & Graf, 2006 (CH, Oct’07, 45-1163).

Hay, Harry. Radically Gay: Gay Liberation in the Words of Its Founder, ed. by Will Roscoe. Beacon Press, 1996.

Hirschfeld, Magnus. The Homosexuality of Men and Women, tr. by Michael A. Lombardi-Nash. Prometheus Books, 2000 (CH, Jan’01, 38-3034).

“Homosexuality: Lesbians and Gay Men in Society, History, and Literature,” ed. by Jonathan Katz. 56 vols. Arno Press, 1975.

Howard, John. Men like That: A Southern Queer History. Chicago, 1999. (CH, Apr’00, 37-4680).

Jay, Karla. Tales of the Lavender Menace: A Memoir of Liberation. Basic Books, 1999.

Johnson, David K. The Lavender Scare: The Cold War Persecution of Gays and Lesbians in the Federal Government. Chicago, 2004 (CH, Oct’04, 42-1141).

Kaiser, Charles. The Gay Metropolis: 1940–1996. Houghton Mifflin, 1997 (CH, Mar’98, 35-4203).

Kameny, Frank. Gay Is Good: The Life and Letters of Gay Rights Pioneer Franklin Kameny, ed. by Michael G. Long. Syracuse, 2014.

Katz, Jonathan. Gay American History: Lesbians and Gay Men in the U.S.A.: A Documentary. T. Y. Crowell, 1976 (CH, Jun’77).

Kennedy, Elizabeth Lapovsky, and Madeline D. Davis. Boots of Leather, Slippers of Gold: The History of a Lesbian Community. 20th anniversary ed. Routledge, 2014.

Kinsey, Alfred. C. Sexual Behaviour in the Human Male. Saunders, 1948.

Kushner, Tony. Angels in America: A Gay Fantasia on National Themes: Part One: Millennium Approaches. Nick Hern Books, 1992; Part Two: Perestroika. Nick Hern Books, 1994 (CH, Sep’94, 32-0147).

Leslie, Sharon. “HIV/AIDS: A Postmodern Epidemic and its Depiction.” Choice: Current Reviews for Academic Libraries 53, no. 7, March 2016: p. 971.

Letters to One: Gay and Lesbian Voices from the 1950s and 1960s, ed. and introd. by Craig M. Loftin. State University of New York, 2012.

LGBTQ America: A Theme Study of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, and Queer History. National Park Service, United States Department of the Interior, 2016. http://purl.fdlp.gov/GPO/gpo73819.

LGBTQ Events, ed. by Robert C. Evans. 2nd ed. Salem/Grey House, 2018 (CH, Aug’18, 55-4323).

Love and Resistance: Out of the Closet into the Stonewall Era, ed. by Jason Baumann and Roxane Gay; photographs by Kay Tobin Lahusen and Diana Davies. W. W. Norton, 2019.

Martin, Del, and Phyllis Lyon. Lesbian/Woman. 20th anniversary ed. Volcano Press, 1991.

McConnell, David. American Honor Killings: Desire and Rage among Men. Akashic, 2013.

Moore, Patrick. Beyond Shame: Reclaiming the Abandoned History of Radical Gay Sexuality. Beacon Press, 2004.

Morris, Bonnie J. The Disappearing L: Erasure of Lesbian Spaces and Culture. SUNY Press, 2017 (CH, Apr’17, 54-4040).

New York Public Library. The Stonewall Reader, ed. and introd. by Jason Baumann. Penguin, 2019.

Pierceson, Jason. Same-Sex Marriage in the United States: The Road to the Supreme Court. Rowman & Littlefield, 2013 (CH, Nov’13, 51-1765).

Polchin, James. Indecent Advances: A Hidden History of True Crime and Prejudice before Stonewall. Counterpoint, 2019. (CH Oct’19, 57-0723).

Queer Twin Cities, ed. by Kevin P. Murphy, Jennifer L. Pierce, and Larry Knopp. Minnesota, 2010.

Rechy, John. The Sexual Outlaw: A Documentary: A Non-fiction Account, with Commentaries, of Three Days and Nights in the Sexual Underground. Grove Press, 1977.

Reynolds, Andrew. The Children of Harvey Milk: How LGBTQ Politicians Changed the World. Oxford, 2018 (CH, May’19, 56-3799).

The Routledge History of Queer America, ed. by Don Romesburg. Routledge, 2018.

Rupp, Leila J., and Susan K. Freeman. Understanding and Teaching U.S. Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender History. Wisconsin, 2014 (CH, May’15, 52-4900).

Ryan, Hugh. When Brooklyn Was Queer. St. Martin’s Press, 2019.

Schulman, Sarah. My American History: Lesbian and Gay Life during the Reagan/Bush Years. Routledge, 1994.

Schwarz, A. B. Christa. Gay Voices of the Harlem Renaissance. Indiana, 2003. (CH, Feb’04, 41-3295).

Sears, James T. Lonely Hunters: An Oral History of Lesbian and Gay Southern Life, 1948–1968. Westview, 1997.

Shilts, Randy. And the Band Played On: Politics, People, and the AIDS Epidemic. St. Martin’s, 2000.

____. Conduct Unbecoming: Lesbians and Gays in the U.S. Military: Vietnam to the Persian Gulf. St. Martin’s, 1993.

Skidmore, Emily. True Sex: The Lives of Trans Men at the Turn of the Twentieth Century. New York University, 2017 (CH, Apr’18, 55-2944).

Snorton, C. Riley. Black on Both Sides: A Racial History of Trans Identity. Minnesota, 2017 (CH, Jun’18, 55-3849).

Stein, Marc. City of Sisterly and Brotherly Loves: Lesbian and Gay Philadelphia, 1945–1972. Chicago, 2000 (CH, Nov’00, 38-1873).

____. The Stonewall Riots: A Documentary History. New York University, 2019.

Stewart, Jeffrey. C. The New Negro: The Life of Alain Locke. Oxford, 2019.

Stryker, Susan. Transgender History. Seal Press, 2008 (CH, May’09, 46-5351).

____. Transgender History: The Roots of Today’s Revolution. Seal Press, 2017 (CH, May’18, 55-3436).

Stulberg, Lisa M. LGBTQ Social Movements. Polity, 2018. (CH, Oct’18, 56-0893).

Teal, Donn. The Gay Militants. Stein and Day, 1971.

White, C. T. Pre-gay L.A: A Social History of the Movement for Homosexual Rights. Illinois, 2009 (CH, Sep’09, 47-1065).

Video

France, David. How to Survive a Plague. Sundance Selects/MPI Media Groups, 2013.

Kushner, Tony. Angels in America, directed by Mike Nichols. HBO Video, 2003. Pose. FX, 2018-19.

Paris Is Burning, directed by Jennie Livingston. Miramax Home Entertainment, 2005.

Screaming Queens: The Riot at Compton’s Cafeteria, directed by Susan Stryker and Victor Silverman. Frameline, 2015.

Stonewall: The Making of a Gay and Lesbian Community, by John Scagliotti et al. First Run Features, 2010.

The Times of Harvey Milk, directed by Rob Epstein. New Yorker Video, 2011.

Online Resources

ACT UP Oral History Project. Actuporalhistory.org (CH, Oct’04, 42-1014).

American Library Association GLBT Round Table. Stonewall Book Awards. www.ala.org/rt/glbtrt/award/stonewall

American Library Association, GLBT-RT Stonewall Book Awards. http://www.ala.org/rt/glbtrt/award/stonewall/honored

Archives of Sexuality & Gender: LGBTQ History and Culture since 1940. GALE, part of Cengage Learning. http://gale.com/c/archives-of-sexuality-and-gender-lgbtq (CH, May’17, 54-4067).

Columbia University Libraries. Stonewall 50 Commemoration: https://archive-it.org/collections/12143

Digital Transgender Archive (DTA). https://www.digitaltransgenderarchive.net

Independent Voices. https://voices.revealdigital.com

Invisible Histories Project. https://www.invisiblehistory.org/

The Kameny Papers. www.kamenypapers.org

The Lambda Literary Awards. https://www.lambdaliterary.org/awards/

LGBT Materials in the New York Public Library: Digital Collections. https://digitalcollections.nypl.org/collections/lgbt-materials-in-the-new-york-public-library#/?tab=navigation

LGBT Thought and Culture. Alexander Street Press (ProQuest). http://alexanderstreet.com/ (CH, Sep’14, 52-0047).

ONE: National Gay and Lesbian Archives: http://www.oneinstitute.org/ (CH, Jul’06, 43-6611).

OutHistory.org: http://www.outhistory.org

Sex and Sexuality: Research Collections from the Kinsey Institute Library & Special Collections. Adam Matthew (SAGE). https://www.amdigital.co.uk/primary-sources/sex-and-sexuality

Supplementary

Homosexuality: Lesbians and Gay Men in Society, History and Literature: Documents of the Homosexual Rights Movement in Germany, 1836–1927, ed. by Jonathan Katz. Arno Press, 1975.

Arno Press “Homosexuality” Series

Acosta, Mercedes de. Here Lies the Heart. Reynal, 1960.

Bannon, Ann. I Am a Woman. Fawcett Publications, 1959.

____. Journey to a Woman. Arno Press, 1960.

____. Odd Girl Out. Cleis Press, 1957.

____. Women in the Shadows. Naiad Press, 1959.

Barney, Natalie Clifford. Aventures de L’Esprit. Émile-Paul Frères 1929.

____. Traits et Portraits: Suivi de L’amour Défendu. Arno Press, 1963.

Brooks, Romaine. Portraits, Tableaux, Dessins. Braun & Cie, 1952.

Carpenter, Edward. Intermediate Types among Primitive Folk: A Study in Social Evolution. 2nd ed. Allen & Unwin Ltd, 1919.

Casal, Mary. The Stone Wall: An Autobiography. Eyncourt Press, 1930.

Cory, Donald Webster. The Homosexual in America: A Subjective Approach, introd. by Albert Ellis. Greenberg, 1951.

Craigin, Elisabeth. Either Is Love. Harcourt Brace, 1937.

Daughters of Bilitis. The Ladder, v.1–16, Including an Index to The Ladder by Gene Damon, 1956-1972, 9v.

Ellis, Havelock, and John Addington Symonds. Sexual Inversion. University Press, 1897.

Eros: An Anthology of Friendship, ed. by Alistair Sutherland and Patrick Anderson. Citadel, 1961.

Fitzroy, A.T. Despised and Rejected. C.W. Daniel, 1917.

Ford, Charles, and Parker Tyler. The Young and Evil. Obelisk Press, 1933.

Frederics, Diana. Diana: A Strange Autobiography. The Dial Press, 1939.

Friedlaender, Benedict. Renaissance de Eros Uranios. Verlag, 1904.

A Gay Bibliography: Eight Bibliographies on Lesbian and Male Homosexuality, ed. by Jonathan Katz. Arno Press, 1975.

A Gay News Chronology, 1969–May 1975: Indexes and Abstracts of Articles from The New York Times. Arno Press, 1975.

Gordon, Mary. Chase of the Wild Goose: The Story of Lady Eleanor Butler and Miss Sarah Ponsonby, Known as the Ladies of Llangollen. Hogarth Press, 1936.

Government versus Homosexuals. Arno Press, 1975.

Grosskurth, Phyllis. John Addington Symons: A Biography. Longmans, Green, 1964.

Gunn, Peter. Vernon Lee: Violet Paget, 1856–1935. Oxford, 1975.

A Homosexual Emancipation Miscellany, c. 1835–1952. Arno Press, 1975.

Karsch-Haack, F[erdinand]. Das Gleichgesschlechtliche Leben der Naturvölker. Reinhardt, 1911.

Katz, Jonathan.  Coming Out: A Documentary Play about Gay Life & Liberation in the U.S.A. Arno Press, 1975.

Lesbianism and Feminism in Germany, 1895–1910. Arno Press, 1975.

Loeffler, Donald L. An Analysis of the Treatment of the Homosexual Character in Dramas Produced in the New York Theatre From 1950 to 1968. Bowling Green, 1969.

Mallet-Joris, Françoise. The Illusionist, tr. by Herma Briffault. Farrar, Strauss and Young, 1952.

Mattachine Society. Mattachine Review, v. 1–13. 1955–1966.

Mayne, Xavier. Imre: A Memorandum. English Book-Press, 1908.

____. The Intersexes: A History of Similisexualism as a Problem in Social Life (privately printed, 1908).

Miss Marianne Woods and Miss Jane Pirie against Dame Helen Cumming Gordon.  Arno Press, 1975.

Morgan, Claire. The Price of Salt. Arno Press, 1975; copyright Coward-McCann, Inc., 1952.

Niles, Blair. Strange Brother. H. Liveright, 1931.

Olivia. Olivia. Sloan, 1949.

Rule, Jane. The Desert of the Heart. Talon Books, 1964.

Sagarin, Edward. Structure and Ideology in an Association of Deviants. Arno Press, 1966; reprint of author’s thesis from New York University Press.

Steakley, James D. “The Homosexual Emancipation Movement in Germany.Arno Press, 1975 in New German Critique12, Fall, 1977: pp. 193–98.

Sturgeon, Mary C. Michael Field. G. G. Harrap, 1921.

Sweet, Roxanna Thayer. Political and Social Action in Homophile Organizations. Arno Press, 1968. Reprint of author’s thesis from California/Berkeley, 1968.

Tobin, Kay, and Randy Wicker. The Gay Crusaders. Arno Press, 1972.

Ulrichs, Carl Heinrich. Forschungen Uber Das Rätsel Der Mannmännlichen Liebe. Spohr, 1898.

Una, Vincenzo Troubridge. The Life of Radclyffe Hall. Citadel Press, 1963.

Underwood, Reginald. Bachelor’s Hall: A Novel. Fortune Press, 1937.

Vivien, Renée. Poemes de Renée Vivien. Lemerre, 1923–24.

Werther, Ralph. Autobiography of an Androgyne, ed. and introd. by Alfred W. Herzog. Medico-Legal Journal, 1918.

____. The Female-Impersonators: A Sequel to The Autobiography of an Androgyne and an Account of Some of the Author’s Experiences during His Six Years as Instinctive Female-Impersonator in New York’s Underworld …, introd. by Alfred W. Herzog. Medico-Legal Journal, 1922.

Wierauch, Anna Elisabet. The Outcast, tr. by Guy Endore. Greenberg, 1933.

____. The Scorpion, tr. by Whittaker Chambers. Greenberg, 1932.

Wilhelm, Gale. Torchlight to Valhalla. Random House, 1938.

____. We Too Are Drifting. Random House, 1935.

Winsloe, Christa. The Child Manuela: The Novel of Maedchen in Uniform. Farrar and Reinhart, 1933.