Relatively few noteworthy Internet resources are available for the field. Those highlighted here include the Internet presence of the discipline’s most prestigious research center, a hub for a range of resources pertaining to Asian Americans, and the website of a national organization focused on policy issues and advocacy. The UCLA Asian American Studies Center is a key institution recognized across the discipline. The center’s website (http://www.aasc.ucla.edu/) includes numerous resources and access to tables of contents and abstracts (but not full-text articles) for the center’s three publications: AAPI Nexus: Asian Americans and Pacific Islanders, Policy Practice and Community, a journal focusing on national policy issues; CrossCurrents, the center’s newsmagazine; and Amerasia Journal, the scholarly journal noted above. The center’s Amerasia Journal blog (http://www.amerasiajournal.org/blog/) includes updates on center events and publications as well as issues in the field.
Asian-Nation: Asian American History, Demographics, and Issues (http://www.asian-nation.org/) describes itself as an “authoritative, one-stop information resource and sociological exploration of the historical, demographic, political, and cultural issues that make up today’s diverse Asian American community.” The “Culture” section provides data and short articles pertaining to issues in Asian American studies, including cultural identity, adoption, food, and sports. Other site sections focus on history, contemporary issues, and individual Asian American ethnic groups. Some of the sources on the site are fairly dated; for example, the primary article featured on Hmong Americans is from 2003. Overall, the website has useful information on a variety of topics. The website of Washington, DC-based Asian Americans Advancing Justice (AAJC) (http://www.advancingjustice-aajc.org/) provides extensive information about contemporary public policy issues that AAJC has worked on at the federal level over the past decade and a half. The “What We Do” section of the site includes numerous publications and policy briefs produced by the organization related to legislation and many contemporary issues impacting Asian Americans. The “News and Media” page includes press releases the national advocacy organization has authored over the years related to key issues identified by its staff, clients, and stakeholders as affecting Asian Americans.