Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Museum Studies in the Twenty-First Century: Theory and Praxis (September): Works Cited

By Juilee Decker

Works Cited

Alexander, Edward P., Mary Alexander, and Juilee Decker. Museums in Motion: An Introduction to the History and Functions of Museums. American Association for State and Local History 1979; 3rd ed., Rowman & Littlefield 2017.

Ambrose, Timothy, and Crispin Paine. Museum Basics. ICOM/Routledge, 1993; 3rd ed., Routledge, 2012.

Barrett, Jennifer. Museums and the Public Sphere. Wiley-Blackwell, 2011.

Basic Condition Reporting: A Handbook, ed. by Deborah Rose Van Horn, Heather Culligan, and Corinne Midgett. 4th ed. Rowman & Littlefield, 2015.

Bedford, Leslie. The Art of Museum Exhibitions: How Story and Imagination Create Aesthetic Experiences. Left Coast Press, 2014.

Bennett, Tony. The Birth of the Museum: History, Theory, Politics. Routledge, 1995.

Bergeron, Anne, and Beth Tuttle. Magnetic: The Art and Science of Engagement. AAM Press, 2013 (CH, Jan’14, 51-2386).

Bitgood, Stephen. Attention and Value: Keys to Understanding Museum Visitors. Left Coast Press, 2013 (CH, Nov’13, 51-1200).

Chenhall, Robert G., and David Vance. Museum Collections and Today’s Computers. Greenwood, 1988.

Chicone, Sarah J., and Richard A. Kissel. Dinosaurs and Dioramas: Creating Natural History Exhibitions. Left Coast Press, 2013.

Chmelik, Samantha. Museum Operations: A Handbook of Tools, Templates, and Models. Rowman & Littlefield, 2017.

Cities, Museums, and Soft Power, ed. by Gail Dexter Lord and Ngaire Blankenberg. AAM Press, 2015.

Clough, G. Wayne. Best of Both Worlds: Museums, Libraries, and Archives in a Digital Age. Smithsonian Institution, 2014.

A Companion to Museum Studies, ed. by Sharon Macdonald. Blackwell, 2006 (CH, Jan’07, 44-2496).

Conn, Steven. Do Museums Still Need Objects? Pennsylvania, 2010 (CH, Mar’10, 47-3601).

____. Museums and American Intellectual Life, 1876–1926. Chicago 1998 (CH, May’99, 36-4868).

Crowdsourcing Our Cultural Heritage, ed. by Mia Ridge. Ashgate, 2014.

Dana, John Cotton. The New Museum: Selected Writings, ed. by William A. Peniston. American Association of Museums, 1999.

Dewey, John. Democracy and Education: An Introduction to the Philosophy of Education. Macmillan, 1916.

Digital Technologies and the Museum Experience: Handheld Guides and Other Media, ed. by Loïc Tallon and Kevin Walker. AltaMira Press, 2008 (CH, Apr’09, 46-4224).

Duncan, Carol. Civilizing Rituals: Inside Public Art Museums. Routledge, 1995.

Edson, Gary. Museum Ethics in Practice. Routledge, 2017.

The Emergence of the Modern Museum: An Anthology of Nineteenth-Century Sources, ed. by Jonah Siegel. Oxford, 2008.

Exhibiting Cultures: The Poetics and Politics of Museum Display, ed. by Ivan Karp and Steven D. Lavine. Smithsonian Institution Press, 1991 (CH, Dec’91, 29-1904).

Falk, John H. Identity and the Museum Visitor Experience. Left Coast Press, 2009.

Falk, John H., and Lynn D. Dierking. The Museum Experience. Whalesback Books, 1992.

____. The Museum Experience Revisited. Left Coast Press, 2013 (CH, Aug’13, 50-6553).

From Museum Critique to the Critical Museum, ed. by Katarzyna Murawska-Muthesius and Piotr Piotrowski. Ashgate, 2015.

Genoways, Hugh H., and Lynne M. Ireland. Museum Administration 2.0. Rowman & Littlefield, 2017. [Revised ed. of Museum Administration, 2004, by Cinnamon Catlin-Legutko.]

Goode, G. Brown. Museum History and Museums of History. GPO, 1901.

Grasping the World: The Idea of the Museum, ed. by Donald Preziosi and Claire Farago. Ashgate, 2004.

Gurian, Elaine Heumann. Civilizing the Museum: The Collected Writings of Elaine Heumann Gurian. Routledge, 2006.

Hansen, Beth. Great Exhibits!: An Exhibit Planning and Construction Handbook for Small Museums. Rowman & Littlefield, 2017.

Harrison, Rodney. Heritage: Critical Approaches. Routledge, 2013.

Hein, George E. Progressive Museum Practice: John Dewey and Democracy. Left Coast Press, 2012 (CH, Mar’13, 50-3977).

Hein, Hilde S. The Museum in Transition: A Philosophical Perspective. Smithsonian Institution Press, 2000.

In Principle, in Practice: Museums as Learning Institutions, ed. by John H. Falk, Lynn D. Dierking, and Susan Foutz. AltaMira Press, 2007 (CH, Dec’07, 45-1829)

Jacobsen, John W. Measuring Museum Impact and Performance: Theory and Practice. Rowman & Littlefield, 2016. 

Kidd, Jenny. Museums in the New Mediascape: Transmedia, Participation, Ethics. Ashgate, 2014. 

Kirshenblatt-Gimblett, Barbara. Destination Culture: Tourism, Museums, and Heritage. California, 1998 (CH, Feb’99, 36-3405).

Klobe, Tom. Exhibitions: Concept, Planning, and Design. AAM Press, 2012.

Kuruvilla, Heather Hope. A Legal Dictionary for Museum Professionals. Rowman & Littlefield, 2016.

Latham, Kiersten Fourshé, and John E. Simmons. Foundations of Museum Studies: Evolving Systems of Knowledge. Libraries Unlimited/ABC-CLIO, 2014.

Leahy, Helen Rees. Museum Bodies: The Politics and Practices of Visiting and Viewing. Ashgate, 2012 (CH, May’13, 50-4811).

A Life in Museums: Managing Your Museum Career, ed. by Greg Stevens and Wendy Luke. Rowman & Littlefield, 2012.

Lindsay, Georgia. The User Perspective on Twenty-First Century Art Museums. Routledge, 2016.

Manual of Digital Museum Planning, ed. by Ali Hossaini and Ngaire Blankenberg. Rowman & Littlefield, 2017.

The Manual of Museum Exhibitions, ed. by Barry Lord and Gail Dexter Lord. AltaMira Press, 2002; 2nd ed. by Barry Lord and Maria Piacente, Rowman & Littlefield, 2014.

McKenna-Cress, Polly, and Janet A. Kamien. Creating Exhibitions: Collaboration in the Planning, Development, and Design of Innovative Experiences. Wiley, 2013.

Message, Kylie. New Museums and the Making of Culture. Berg, 2006.

Mobile Apps for Museums: The AAM Guide to Planning and Strategy, ed. by Nancy Proctor, with contributions from Jane Burton et al. AAM Press, 2011.

Multisensory Museum: Cross-Disciplinary Perspectives on Touch, Sound, Smell, Memory, and Space, ed. by Nina Levent and Alvaro Pascual-Leone. Rowman & Littlefield, 2014. 

Museum Informatics: People, Information, and Technology in Museums, ed. by Paul F. Marty and Katherine Burton Jones. Routledge, 2008.

Museum Origins: Readings in Early Museum History and Philosophy, ed. by Hugh H. Genoways and Mary Anne Andrei. Left Coast Press, 2008.

Museum Philosophy for the Twenty-First Century, ed. by Hugh H. Genoways. AltaMira, 2006.

Museum Studies: An Anthology of Contexts, ed. by Bettina Messias Carbonell. 2nd ed. Wiley-Blackwell, 2012.

Museum Studies: Perspectives and Innovations, ed. by Stephen L. Williams and Catharine A. Hawks. Society for the Preservation of Natural History Collections, 2006.

Museums and Communities: Curators, Collections, and Collaboration, ed. by Viv Golding and Wayne Modest. Bloomsbury Academic, 2013.

Museums and Memory, ed. by Susan A. Crane. Stanford, 2000.

Museums and Source Communities: A Routledge Reader, ed. by Laura Peers and Alison K. Brown. Routledge, 2003.

Museums and Their Communities, ed. by Sheila Watson. London: Routledge, 2007.

Museums, Ethics, and Cultural Heritage, ed. by Bernice L. Murphy. Routledge, 2016.

Museums in a Digital Age, ed. by Ross Parry. Routledge, 2010.

New Directions in Museum Ethics, ed. by Janet Marstine, Alexander A. Bauer, and Chelsea Haines. Routledge, 2013.

The New Museology, ed. by Peter Vergo. Reaktion, 1989.

New Museum Theory and Practice: An Introduction, ed. by Janet Marstine. Blackwell, 2006.

Positioning Your Museum as a Critical Community Asset: A Practical Guide, ed. by Robert P. Connolly and Elizabeth A. Bollwerk. Rowman & Littlefield, 2016.

Reinventing the Museum: The Evolving Conversation on the Paradigm Shift, ed. by Gail Anderson. 2nd ed. AltaMira Press, 2012.

Routledge Companion to Museum Ethics: Redefining Ethics for the Twenty-First Century Museum, ed. by Janet Marstine. Routledge, 2011.

Samis, Peter, and Mimi Michaelson. Creating the Visitor-Centered Museum.  Routledge, 2017.

Schlatter, N. Elizabeth. Museum Careers: A Practical Guide for Novices and Students. Left Coast Press, 2008 (CH, Nov’08, 46-1218).

Schwarzer, Marjorie. Riches, Rivals & Radicals: 100 Years of Museums in America. AAM Press, 2006.

Silverman, Lois H. The Social Work of Museums. Routledge, 2010.

Simmons, John E. Museums: A History. Rowman & Littlefield, 2016.

Simon, Nina. The Art of Relevance. Museum 2.0, 2016.

____. The Participatory Museum. Museum 2.0, 2010.

Theorizing Digital Cultural Heritage: A Critical Discourse, ed. by Fiona Cameron and Sarah Kenderdine. MIT, 2007 (CH, Nov’07, 45-1536).

Thomas, Nicholas. The Return of Curiosity: What Museums Are Good for in the 21st Century. Reaktion, 2016.

Tilden, Freeman. Interpreting Our Heritage. North Carolina, 1957; 4th ed., exp. and updated, ed. by R. Bruce Craig and Russell E. Dickenson,  2007.

Visitor-Centered Exhibitions and Edu-curation in Art Museums, ed. by Pat Villeneuve and Ann Rowson Love. Rowman & Littlefield, 2017 (CH, Oct’17, 55-0500)

Walhimer, Mark. Museums 101. Lanham, MD: Rowman & Littlefield, 2015.

Weaver, Stephanie. Creating Great Visitor Experiences: A Guide for Museums, Parks, Zoos, Gardens & Libraries. Left Coast Press, 2007.

Weil, Stephen E. Making Museums Matter. Smithsonian, 2002.

Wells, Marcella D., Barbara Butler, and Judith Koke. Interpretive Planning for Museums: Integrating Visitor Perspectives in Decision Making. Left Coast Press, 2013.

Wood, Elizabeth, and Kiersten F. Latham. The Objects of Experience: Transforming Visitor-Object Encounters in Museums. Left Coast Press, 2014.

Yerkovich, Sally. A Practical Guide to Museum Ethics. Rowman & Littlefield, 2016 (CH, Jun’17, 54-4526).

Series

Innovative Approaches for Museums.” Rowman & Littlefield, 2015.

Interpreting History.” Rowman & Littlefield, 2014– .

Key Issues in Cultural Heritage.” Routledge, 2008– . 

Leicester Readers in Museum Studies.” Routledge, 1994– . 

Museum Meanings.” Routledge, 1997– . 

Journals

Collections: A Journal for Museum & Archives Professionals. Rowman & Littlefield.

Curator: The Museum Journal. Wiley. 

International Journal of Cultural Property. Cambridge. 

International Journal of Heritage Studies. Taylor & Francis. 

Journal of Conservation and Museum Studies. Institute of Archaeology/University College London.  

Journal of Museum Education. Taylor & Francis. 

Journal of Museum Management and Curatorship. Taylor & Francis. 

Journal of the History of Collections. Oxford. 

Museum and Society. University of Leicester. 

Museum Worlds. Berghahn. 

The Public Historian. California.  

Visitor Studies. Taylor & Francis. 

Repositories/Websites

American Alliance of Museums (AAM). Formerly American Association of Museums.  http://aam-us.org/.

American Association for State and Local History (AASLH). http://www.aaslh.org/

Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS). https://www.imls.gov/

International Council of Museums (ICOM). http://icom.museum/ 

National Council on Public History (NCPH). http://ncph.org/