Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Online Resources for Business Research (August 2016): Works Cited

Celia Ross

Works Cited

Key to pricing information: the symbol ($$) indicates a subscription resource; contact publisher for pricing.  The symbol (&) indicates some free content, but added features require a subscription or membership.  Resources not accompanied by a price symbol are available without charge and likely to include advertising.  Resources reviewed by Choice indicate the issue date and review number of the first review or the most recent revisit.  Some older reviews may have been reprinted in subsequent August web supplements of Choice.  Website URLs were last visited in May 2016.

Works Cited: Multi-content/Multi-subject Databases

Business Insights: Global (CH, Feb’12, 49-3045)
Gale Cengage Learning
($$)

Euromonitor Passport
Euromonitor International
($$)

MarketLine Advantage (CH, Oct’12, 50-0645)
Progressive Digital Media
($$)

Mergent Online (CH, Jan’06, 43-2586)
Mergent
($$)

NetAdvantage
S&P Global
($$)

OneSource Global Business Browser (CH, Mar’07, 44-3649)
Avention
($$)

Statista (CH, Aug’12, 49-6646)
(&)

Works Cited: Company Information Resources

AtoZdatabases
Database USA

Corporate Affiliations
LexisNexis Group, a division of Reed Elsevier
($$)

Dun & Bradstreet Million Dollar Database(CH, May’06, 43-5027)
Dun & Bradstreet & Mergent
($$)

Gale Directory Library (CH, Jul’08, 45-5894)
Gale Cengage Learning
($$)

Hoover’s (CH, Jul’07, 44-6011)
Dun & Bradstreet
(&)

Leadership Directories (CH, Sep’08, 46-0051)
($$)

Mergent Intellect
($$)

Orbis
Bureau van Dijk
($$)

ReferenceUSA (CH, Mar’07, 44-3650)
Infogroup
($$)

ThomasNet (CH, Oct’11, 49-0622)
Thomas Publishing

Ward’s Business Directory of U.S. Private and Public Companies (CH, Feb’92, 29-3084)
Gale Cengage Learning
($$)

Works Cited: Historical Stock Prices & Annual Reports

Annual Reports at Academic Business Libraries 
Purdue Univ.

Columbia Historical Corporate Reports (CH, Aug’10, 47-6615)
Columbia Univ. Libraries

Finding Historical Stock Prices
New York Public Library

ProQuest Historical Annual Reports (CH, Dec’06, 44-1890)
($$)

What to Do with an Old Stock Certificate
Enoch Pratt Free Library

Works Cited: Industry Research Resources

Annual Retail Trade Survey
U.S. Census Bureau

Annual Survey of Manufactures
U.S. Census Bureau

Baker Library/Bloomberg Center Research Guides (CH, Feb’07, 44-3032)
Harvard Baker Library

BizMiner
The Brandow Company
($$)

Economic Census (CH, Jun’13, 50-5704)
U.S. Census Bureau

Freedonia Focus Reports
Freedonia Group
($$)

IBISWorld (CH, Apr’06, 43-4410)
($$)

Plunkett Research Online
($$)

Works Cited: International Business Resources

BMI Research
Business Monitor International Ltd.
($$)

BRASS Business Guide: International Business
ALA’s RUSA BRASS

CIA World Factbook (CH, Feb’06, 43-3171)
U.S. Central Intelligence Agency

Country Analysis Briefs (CH, Apr’07, 44-4220)
U.S. Energy Information Administration

Country Insights (CH, Aug’06, 43Sup-0451)
Canada’s Centre for Intercultural Learning

Country ViewsWire
Economist Group
($$)

Doing Business (CH, Oct’13, 51-0967)
World Bank Group

Economist Intelligence Unit Country Reports Archive (CH, Mar’16, 53-2904)
Economist Group; ProQuest
($$)

EMIS (Emerging Markets Information System)(CH, Nov’07, 45-1214)
Euromoney Institutional Investor
($$)

Export.gov (CH, Aug’05, 42Sup-0443)
International Trade Administration, U.S. Department of Commerce

Fortune Global 500
Time Inc.

globalEDGE (CH, Aug’05, 42Sup-0446)
Broad College of Business, Michigan State Univ.

IHS Connect
($$)

International Monetary Fund>IMF Country Page (CH, Feb’03, 40-3527)
IMF
(&)

International Trade Administration (ITA)
U.S. Department of Commerce

Latin American Network Information Center(LANIC) (CH, Feb’09, 46-3422)
Univ. of Texas at Austin

Market Explorer
Economist Group
($$)

NationMaster (CH, Jun’06, 43-5663)

OECD iLibrary (CH, Mar’11, 48-3639)
Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development
(&)

Really Useful Links for International Trade(CH, Jan’14, 51-2756)
Federation of International Trade Associations, GlobalTrade.net

UN iLibrary
United Nations
(&)

World Bank Open Data (CH, Sep’10, 48-0059)
World Bank Group

World Development Indicators (CH, Sep’04, 42-0432)
World Bank Group

Works Cited: Small Business Resources

Business Plans and Profiles Index (CH, Mar’07, 44-3633)
Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh

Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance
Office of Management and Budget to the General Services Administration

Entrepreneurial Studies Source (CH, Jun’11, 48-5448)
EBSCO
($$)

Entrepreneurship Database
ProQuest
($$)

Global Entrepreneurship Monitor (GEM) (CH, Apr’14, 51-4537)
Global Entrepreneurship Research Association

Kauffman Foundation

SBDCNet
U.S. Small Business Administration

SCORE (CH, Jul’14, 51-6265)

Small Business Reference Center
EBSCO
($$)

Small Business Resource Center (CH, Jun’08, 45-5358)
Gale Cengage Learning
($$)

U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) (CH, Aug’05, 42Sup-0456)

Works Cited: Article Databases

ABI/INFORM Complete (CH, Oct’10, 48-0621)
ProQuest
($$)

American City Business Journals
(&)

Business Source Complete (CH, Feb’07, 44-3035)
EBSCO
($$)

Crain Communications
(&)

Factiva (CH, Apr’09, 46-4202)
Dow Jones/News Corp
($$)

LexisNexis Academic (CH, Jun’08, 45-5305)
LexisNexis Group, a division of Reed Elsevier
($$)

Regional Business News
EBSCO
($$)

Works Cited: Investment & Finance Resources

BigCharts (CH, Aug’05, 42Sup-0463)
Dow Jones/News Corp

Bloomberg Professional Service (the Terminal)
Bloomberg Finance
($$)

Center for Research in Security Prices(CRSP)
Booth School of Business, Univ. of Chicago
($$)

Compustat Research Insight
S&P Global
($$)

EDGAR, Electronic Data Gathering, Analysis, and Retrieval (CH, Jul’16, 53-4616)
U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission

Eikon
Thomson Reuters
($$)

FactSet
FactSet Research Systems
($$)

GFDatabase
Global Financial Data
($$)

Google Finance

Intelligize
($$)

Investext (CH, Nov’07, 45-1225)
Thomson Research
($$)

Morningstar (CH, Apr’11, 48-4248)
(&)

The Motley Fool

Rank and Filed
Maris Jensen

SEC Live
(&)

SEC.gov
U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission

Value Line (CH, Oct’06, 44-0714)
(&)

Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS)
Wharton School, Univ. of Pennsylvania
($$)

Yahoo! Finance (CH, Jul’06, 43-6642)

Works Cited: Investment Education Sites

Campbell R. Harvey’s Hypertextual Finance Glossary (CH, Feb’07, 44-3037)

CFTC Education Center
U.S. Commodity Futures Trading Commission

FINRA Investor Education Foundation
Financial Industry Regulation Authority

Investing in Bonds
Securities Industry and Financial Markets Association (SIFMA)

Investment Company Fact Book
Investment Company Institute

Investopedia (CH, Jul’01, 38-6292)

Investor’s Clearinghouse (CH, Nov’06, 44-1636)
Alliance for Investor Education

Smart Investing@Your Library
American Library Association

Stock & Commodity Exchanges
Ka-Neng Au, Rutgers University Libraries

Works Cited: Specialized Industry Resources

Automotive News Data Center
Crain Communications
($$)

eMarketer
($$)

EvaluatePharma
Evaluate
($$)

Forrester
($$)

Gartner
($$)

GlobalData Medical
GlobalData
($$)

GlobalData Power
GlobalData
($$)

Medtrack
Pharma Intelligence, from Informa Business Intelligence
($$)

Sports Business Research Network (CH, Jan’08, 45-2393)
SBRnet
($$)

WardsAuto Data Center
($$)

Works Cited: Marketing & Consumer Information

AdAge Datacenter
Crain Communications
($$)

American Customer Satisfaction Index (ACSI) (CH, Nov’08, 46-1254)
Ross School of Business, Univ. of Michigan
(&)

BusinessDecision
CIVICTechnologies
($$)

DemographicsNow: Business & People (CH, Sep’12, 50-0038)
Gale Cengage Learning
($$)

Esri Business Analyst
($$)

Marketing
MIT Libraries

Mintel (CH, Jul’10, 47-6023)
($$)

MRI
GfK
($$)

Nielsen Datasets (Consumer Panel Data,Retail Scanner Data)
Kilts Center for Marketing, Booth School of Business, Univ. of Chicago
($$)

Nielsen.com

REDBOOKS
($$)

Simmons OneView
Experian Marketing Services
($$)

SimplyMap (CH, Dec’09, 47-1791)
Geographic Research
($$)

Social Explorer (CH, Mar’11, 48-3644)
($$)

SRDS Local Market Audience Analyst
Kantar Media
($$)

SRDS Online Databases
Kantar Media
($$)

U.S. Consumers/LifestylesU.S. New Movers/Homeowners
Infogroup
($$)

Works Cited: Nonprofit Organizations

BoardSource
($$)

Certified B Corporations
B Lab

Charity Navigator (CH, Feb’08, 45-2927)

The Chronicle of Philanthropy
(&)

Foundation Directory Online
Foundation Center
($$)

Give.org
BBB Wise Giving Alliance, Better Business Bureau

GuideStar (CH, Mar’06, 43-3789)
GuideStar USA
(&)

National Center for Charitable Statistics (CH, Dec’12, 50-1803)

Works Cited: Business E-books

Books 24x7
Skillsoft
($$)

Business Expert Press
($$)

Ebook Central
ProQuest
($$)

EBSCO eBooks
($$)

Gale Virtual Reference Library (CH, Dec’10, 48-1793)
Gale Cengage Learning
($$)

Safari Books Online Business Library
ProQuest
($$)

ScienceDirect (CH, Sep’06, 44-0034)
Elsevier
($$)

Springer Book Archives (CH, Nov’13, 51-1208)
($$)

Wiley Online Library (CH, Jan’11, 48-2411)
($$)

Works Cited: Financial News Sites

Barron’s
Dow Jones/News Corp
(&)

Business Insider
(&)

CNN Money
Time Warner
(&)

The Economist
Economist Group
(&)

Financial Times
(&)

Fortune
Time Inc.
(&)

MarketWatch
Dow Jones/News Corp
(&)

Money
Time Inc.
(&)

MSN Money
(&)

New York Times
(&)

Wall Street Journal
Dow Jones/News Corp
(&)

 

Works Cited: Private Equity, Venture Capital, Mergers & Acquisitions

Capital IQ
S&P Global
($$)

CrunchBase

Deal Pipeline
The Deal
($$)

PitchBook
PitchBook Data
($$)

Preqin
($$)

Private Equity Demystified, 3rd ed.
By John Gilligan and Mike Wright, Institute of Chartered Accountants in England and Wales

PrivCo
PrivCo Media

Zephyr
Bureau van Dijk
($$)

Works Cited: Industry Report Vendors & Aggregators

Global Information 
(&)

MarketResearch.com (CH, Aug’04, 41Sup-0405)
(&)

MarketsandMarkets
(&)

ReportLinker (CH, Jul’13, 50-5957)
($$)

Research and Markets
(&)

Transparency Market Research
(&)

Works Cited: General Business Statistics

American FactFiner (CH, Dec’05, 43-1925)
U.S. Census Bureau

Databases, Tables & Calculators by Subject
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics

Data-Planet Statistical Datasets
Data-Planet by Conquest Systems
($$)

Federal Reserve Economic Data (FRED)(CH, Jan’14, 51-2766)
Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis

Finding Statistics
Univ. of Michigan

Government Information
Anderson School of Management, Rosenfeld Library, UCLA

Occupational Outlook Handbook (CH, Oct’12, 50-0646)
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics

SAGE Business Stats (CH, May’16, 53-3791)
($$)

Statistic Brain
Statistic Brain Research Institute

Statistical Abstract of the United States (CH, Dec’07, 45-1769)
ProQuest
($$)

Statistical Abstracts Series
U.S. Census Bureau

Statistical Insight Collection
ProQuest

U.S. Census Bureau>Business & Industry(CH, Feb’12, 49-3060)

U.S. Census Bureau>Statistics of U.S. Businesses

Works Cited: Not Just for Librarians

Best of the Business Web
Robert Berkman

Biz Ref Desk
Terese Mulkern Terry

Business & Finance Division
Special Library Association

The Business Blog
Chad Boeninger, Ohio Univ. Libraries

Business Reference and Services Section
BRASS, RUSA, ALA

Business Reference Essentials
BRASS, RUSA, ALA

BUSLIB-L: Business Librarians’ Discussion List
Northern Arizona Univ.

Citing Business Databases in APA Format
Walter Clinton Jackson Library, Univ. of North Carolina Greensboro

Citing Business Databases in APA Style
Gast Business Library, Michigan State Univ.

Information Advisor’s Guide to Internet Research
Information Today
(&)

Lippincott Datapoints
Lippincott Library, Wharton School, Univ. of Pennsylvania

Periodic Table of Business Research Databases
Alacra

Business Information Portal
Peter Z. McKay, Univ. of Florida